The independent voice of cricket

T20 World Cup 2021

T20 World Cup 2021 – All you need to know: Format, venues, teams, TV schedule and more

T20 World Cup 2021
by Wisden Staff 3 minute read

The T20 World Cup 2021, the seventh edition of the 20-over ICC tournament, will be played in Oman and UAE in October and November – here are details of the format, venues, timings, match fixtures, along with telecast details of the competition.

Live: Pakistan vs Scotland – Follow live updates, score and commentary, along with where to watch details here.

T20 World Cup 2021: Venues

The tournament was initially supposed to be held in Australia, but the tournament was postponed due to Covid-19. The 2021 tournament was slated to be held in India, but the hosts were changed to UAE and Oman. The matches will be held in four cities, across four stadiums:

Dubai – Dubai International Stadium

Sharjah – Sharjah International Stadium

Abu Dhabi – Sheikh Zayed Cricket Stadium

Muscat – Oman International Academy Ground

T20 WC 2021 venue details: Click here for ground details, stadium history and more.

T20 World Cup 2021: Groups

Round 1

Group A: Ireland, Namibia, Netherlands, Sri Lanka

Group B: Bangladesh, Oman, Papua New Guinea, Scotland

Super 12

Group 1: Australia, England, South Africa, West Indies, A1, B2

Group 2: Afghanistan, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, A2, B1

T20 World Cup 2021: Schedule and list of fixtures

A total of 45 matches will be played between 16 teams. Round 1 will see eight teams play 12 matches to qualify for the Super 12s, with two teams from either group making it to the next stage.

T20 WC 2021 schedule: Find the full list of fixtures of each team.

T20 World Cup: Squads list

All 16 teams selected a squad of fifteen players for the tournament, announcing a preliminary squad that can be amended up to four days before the start of quarantine. Each team can carry up to seven players as reserves due to the existing Covid-19 rules.

T20 WC 2021 squads: Find the complete list of players, along with reserves and replacement updates.

T20 World Cup 2021: TV and telecast details

In India, the T20 World Cup will be telecast on the Star Sports Network on the following channels – Star Sports 1/1 HD, Star Sports 2/2 HD (for Qualifier), Star Sports 1 Hindi/1 HD Hindi, Star Sports 1 Tamil, 1 Telugu & 1 Kannada.

Matches will also be available to be live streamed on Disney+ Hotstar with a paid subscription.

Details of worldwide coverage of the tournament will be updated once available.

T20 WC: Past winners

West Indies are the defending champions, having won the last tournament in 2016. They are the only team to win the trophy more than once.

T20 WC past winners: Find the list of past champions, along with previous Players of the Tournament.

Sign up to bet365 to be entered into a draw for the chance to win a Wisden Hoodie, terms and conditions apply, more information here. 18+ begambleaware.org

Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99