The independent voice of cricket

IPL 2024

IPL 2024 Impact Players: Match-wise list of substituted players and replacements

Kolkata Knight Riders' Venkatesh Iyer (R) plays a shot during the Indian Premier League (IPL) Twenty20 cricket match between Royal Challengers Bangalore and Kolkata Knight Riders at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru on April 26, 2023.
by Wisden Staff 3 minute read

Like last season, IPL 2024 teams can use an Impact Player this season as well, adding another tactical layer to the competition – here’s a match-wise list of all of the impact players used so far in this Indian Premier League. Here’s the full list of Impact Players used in each match so far.

IPL 2024: What is the Impact Player rule?

The Impact Player rule means that one player from a team’s starting XI can be replaced during each match. There are, however, several caveats to this. The impact player must be drawn from one of five players named by each side before every match. They must also be Indian, unless a team has fielded fewer than four overseas players in their starting XI for that match.

Find full details of the impact player rule here

The Impact Player can be introduced before an innings begins, after a wicket falls or a batter retires, or at the end of an over. If the Impact Player is introduced during a batting innings, they can bat at any point in the order as long as only 11 batters are sent out. If they are introduced during a fielding innings they will be able to bowl up to four overs regardless of the point at which they are brought into the match.

Chennai Super Kings, IPL 2023 champions, hosted Royal Challengers Bangalore in the season opener on March 22. With the Indian general elections fast approaching, the schedule for the first 21 fixtures has been announced so far.

Find the IPL 2024 match schedule here

IPL 2024: Impact players used so far

Match 1 | CSK vs RCB (Chennai)

RCB: Yash Dayal for Dinesh Karthik
CSK: Shivam Dube for Mustafizur Rahman

Match 2 | PBKS vs DC (Mohali)

DC: Abhishek Porel for Ricky Bhui
PBKS: Prabhsimran Singh for Arshdeep Singh

Match 3 | KKR vs SRH (Kolkata)

KKR: Suyash Sharma for Ramandeep Singh
SRH: Abhishek Sharma for T Natarajan

Match 4 | RR vs LSG (Jaipur)

RR: Nandre Burger for Shimron Hetmyer
LSG: Deepak Hooda for Yash Thakur

Match 5 | GT vs MI (Ahmedabad)

GT: Mohit Sharma for Sai Sudharsan
MI: Dewald Brevis for Luke Wood

Match 6 | RCB vs PBKS (Bengaluru)

RCB: Mahipal Lomror for Yash Dayal
PBKS: Arshdeep Singh for Prabhsimran Singh

Match 7 | CSK vs GT (Chennai)

CSK: Matheesha Pathirana for Shivam Dube
GT: Sai Sudharsan for Mohit Sharma

Match 8 | SRH vs MI (Hyderabad)

SRH: Umran Malik for Travis Head
MI: Romario Shepherd for Kwena Maphaka

Match 9 | RR vs DC

RR: Nandre Burger for Shimron Hetmyer
DC: Abishek Porel for Khaleel Ahmed

Match 10 | RCB vs KKR

RCB: Vijaykumar Vyshak for Dinesh Karthik
KKR: Angkrish Raghuvanshi for Varun Chakravarthy

Match 11 | LSG vs PBKS

LSG: Naveen-ul-Haq for KL Rahul
PBKS: Prabhsimran Singh for Arshdeep Singh

Match 12 | GT vs SRH

GT: Sai Sudharsan for Mohit Sharma
SRH: Washington Sundar for Mayank Agarwal

Match 13 | DC vs CSK

DC: Rasikh Salam for Prithvi Shaw
CSK: Shivam Dube for Matheesha Pathirana

Match 14 | MI vs RR

MI: Dewald Brevis for Naman Dhir
RR: Shubham Dubey for Yuzvendra Chahal

Match 15 | RCB vs LSG

RCB: Mahipal Lomror for Yash Dayal
LSG: M Siddharth for Quinton de Kock

Match 16 | DC vs KKR

DC: Khaleel Ahmed for Abhishek Porel
KKR: Angkrish Raghuvanshi

Match 17 | GT vs PBKS

GT: Mohit Sharma for Rahul Tewatia
KKR: Ashutosh Sharma for Arshdeep Singh

Match 18 | SRH vs CSK

SRH: Travis Head for T Natarajan
CSK: Mukesh Choudhary for Shivam Dube

Match 19 | RR vs RCB

RR: Shubham Dubey for Yuzvendra Chahal
RCB: Saurav Chauhan

Match 20 | MI vs DC

MI: Akash Madhwal for Suryakumar Yadav
DC: Khaleel Ahmed

Match 21 | LSG vs GT

LSG: M Siddharth for Marcus Stoinis
GT: Mohit Sharma

Match 22 | CSK vs KKR

CSK: Shivam Dube for Mustafizur Rahman

Match 23 | PBKS vs SRH

PBKS: Prabhsimran Singh for Arshdeep Singh

Match 24 | RR vs GT

RR: Keshav Maharaj for Yashasvi Jaiswal

Match 25 | MI vs RCB

MI: Suryakumar Yadav for Akash Madhwal
RCB: Saurav Chauhan for Rajat Patidar

Match 26 | LSG vs DC

LSG: Deepak Hooda for Quinton de Kock

Match 27 | PBKS vs RR

PBKS: Ashutosh Sharma for Prabhsimran Singh

Match 28 | KKR vs LSG

KKR: Rinku Singh for Varun Chakravarthy

Match 29 | MI vs CSK

MI: Suryakumar Yadav for Akash Madhwal

Match 30 | RCB vs SRH

RCB: Anuj Rawat for Yash Dayal

Match 31 | KKR vs RR

KKR: Vaibhav Arora for Rinku Singh

Match 32 | GT vs DC

GT: Shahrukh Khan for Sai Sudharsan

Updated up to April 17, 2024

Subscribe to the Wisden Cricket YouTube channel for post-match analysis, player interviews, and much more.

Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99