The independent voice of cricket


Team selector: Pick your India Test XI to face New Zealand

Team Selector: Pick your India XI to face New Zealand for the upcoming series that kicks off tomorrow at Kanpur.

The World Test Championship finalists will take on each other in a two-Test match series in India. While, India will look to avenge their recent ICC tournament losses, New Zealand will attempt to create history by winning their first-ever Test series in the country. And there are some WTC points up for grabs as well.

Now that KL Rahul has been ruled out due to injury, one can expect that India will open with a settled combination of Shubman Gill and Mayank Agarwal, but there are a number of questions with respect to the middle-order. Also, one can never rule out a ‘Nagpur 2010’ scenario when last minute changes are needed.

Will you give the gloves to a tried and tested face in Wriddhiman Saha, or look to the future in K Srikar Bharat?

India have four spinners and four pace bowlers in their squad. These resources are aplenty, but this also gives rise to a number of selection quandaries.

India Squad for the first Test: Ajinkya Rahane (c), Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Shubman Gill, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Wriddhiman Saha (wk), KS Bharat (wk), Ravindra Jadeja, R. Ashwin, Axar Patel, Jayant Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav, Md. Siraj, Prasidh Krishna

Your Selection


Your Details

Your name:
Your e-mail address:
Your comments:


  • Ajinkya Rahane
  • Shubman Gill
  • Mayank Agarwal
  • Cheteshwar Pujara
  • Shreyas Iyer
  • Suryakumar Yadav


  • Wriddhiman Saha
  • KS Bharat


  • Ravindra Jadeja
  • Ravichandran Ashwin
  • Jayant Yadav
  • Axar Patel


  • Ishant Sharma
  • Mohammed Siraj
  • Umesh Yadav
  • Prasidh Krishna

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99