The independent voice of cricket


Latest ICC men’s T20I rankings: Suryakumar closes in on No.1, Maharaj enters top ten

by Wisden Staff 1 minute read

Suryakumar Yadav has inched closer to the No.1 spot in the ICC Men’s T20I rankings, now only 16 rating points behind top-ranked Mohammed Rizwan.

The India middle-order batter continued his fine form in the shortest format, ending the South Africa T20I series with two fifties. He made 119 runs in three games to end as the leading run-scorer for the hosts. Suryakumar, who had attained his career-best rating point of 854 earlier this week after the second T20I, now has 838 points, 16 behind Rizwan.

The Pakistan wicketkeeper currently has 854 points and continues to hold on to the top spot after another stellar T20I series against England. Rizwan made 316 runs in six games. He was rested from the sixth T20I, which meant that he lost crucial rating points. Rizwan had reached 875 points during the England T20Is, but the inability to get a big score in the last game saw him drop 21 points.


Courtesy of Rizwan dropping points, the stage was set for Suryakumar to claim the top spot with a big knock in the third T20I against South Africa. However, he made eight and continues to be No.2.

The top three is complete with Babar Azam, who is 53 points behind teammate Rizwan in the batting charts.

The big gainers were KL Rahul, who jumped up to 14th from 21st and Quinton de Kock (eight spots to 12th). Rilee Rossouw (up 23 spots to 20th) and David Miller (jumped 10 spots to 29th) scored hundreds in the series and were duly rewarded.

The bowling rankings saw Keshav Maharaj enter the top ten, after a jump of seven spots. He picked up four wickets at an economy rate of just over seven in three games. R Ashwin entered the top 20, jumping up 28 places, while Reece Topley is now 14th, up from 23, after grabbing five wickets against Pakistan. Bhuvneshwar Kumar, who was ranked 10, has slipped down to 12 after missing the series.

ICC Men’s T20I Player Rankings (Batting)

Mohammad Rizwan – Pakistan
Suryakumar Kumar – India
Babar Azam – Pakistan
Aiden Markram – South Africa
Dawid Malan – England
Aaron Finch – Australia
Devon Conway – New Zealand
Pathum Nissanka – Sri Lanka
Muhammad Waseem – UAE
Martin Guptill – New Zealand

ICC Men’s T20I Player Rankings (Bowling)

Josh Hazlewood – Australia
Rashid Khan – Afghanistan
Wanindu Hasaranga – Sri Lanka
Adam Zampa – Australia
Tabraiz Shamsi – South Africa
Adil Rashid – England
Maheesh Theekshana – Sri Lanka
Mujeeb Ur Rahman – Afghanistan
Akeal Hosein – West Indies
Keshav Maharaj – South Africa

ICC Men’s T20I Player Rankings (All-rounder)

Mohammad Nabi – Afghanistan
Shakib Al Hasan – Bangladesh
Moeen Ali – England
Wanindu Hasaranga – Sri Lanka
Hardik Pandya – India
Glenn Maxwell – Australia
JJ Smit – Namibia
Zeeshan Maqsood – Oman
Dipendra Airee – Nepal
Rohan Mustafa – UAE

Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99