The independent voice of cricket

The Hundred 2023

The Hundred 2023 captains: Full list of skippers at The Hundred 2023

Lewis Gregory
by Wisden Staff 2 minute read

The Hundred 2023 gets underway in August  for its third season. Here is the full list of men’s and women’s captains for this year’s competition.

The competition gets underway on August 1, with defending men’s champions Tent Rockets playing Southern Brave in a men’s and women’s double header at Trent Bridge. All games will be played as double headers this year, unlike last year, when the start of the women’s competition was delayed by the Commonwealth Games.

Each team will play one match against every other team during the group stage, as well as a bonus match against their nearest regional rivals. After that, the knockout stages will comprise of an Eliminator between the second- and third-placed sides from the group stage, followed by the final, where the table topper from the group stage will clash against the winner of the Eliminator.


A women’s draft was introduced for the first time this year, the first for any UK women’s major sporting competition. Men’s sides were allowed to retain up to ten players from last year, and salary bands were frozen at their 2022 levels.

Several marquee overseas signings have been confirmed as playing this year. Shadab Khan will play for Birmingham Phoenix alongside Adam Milne, while PSL fast-bowling sensation Ihsanullah will play for Oval Invincibles. Australia stars Georgia Wareham and Heather Graham will play for Northern Superchargers, while Harmanpreet Kaur and Lizelle Lee will be in action for Trent Rockets.

Both finals will take place at Lord’s on August 27. The Southern Brave will be going for a third consecutive women’s title, while the Oval Invincibles will bid for a third successive men’s final appearance.

Full list of captains for The Hundred 2023

Birmingham Phoenix

Men: Moeen Ali
Women: Ellyse Perry

London Spirit

Men: Dan Lawrence
Women: Heather Knight

Manchester Originals

Men: Jos Buttler
Women: Sophie Ecclestone

Northern Superchargers

Men: TBC
Women: Hollie Armitage

Oval Invincibles

Men: Sam Billings
Women: Dane van Niekerk

Southern Brave

Men: James Vince
Women: Anya Shrubsole

Trent Rockets

Men: Lewis Gregory
Women: Nat Sciver-Brunt

Welsh Fire

Men: Tom Abell
Women: Tammy Beaumont

Subscribe to the Wisden Cricket YouTube channel for post-match analysis, player interviews, and much more.

Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99