The independent voice of cricket

Rachael Heyhoe Flint Trophy

Watch: One day after controversial India dismissal, Charlie Dean fakes run out at non-striker’s end

by Wisden Staff 2 minute read

Watch: One day after being run-out at the non-strikers end in controversial circumstances, Charlie Dean feigned a ‘Mankad’ of her own with her second ball of the Rachael Heyhoe Flint Trophy final.

The Rachael Heyhoe Flint Trophy final is being held at Lord’s, the same venue where less than 24 hours earlier Dean was the last batter out as India beat England by 16 runs.

Dean’s dismissal caused mass controversy, with pundits and players divided as to whether the run-out was within the spirit of the game.


England, requiring 17 runs to win with one wicket in hand and Dean on 47 and at the non-strikers end, lost after Deepti Sharma stopped in her action at the moment before release and removed the bails with Dean out of her crease. The decision was referred to the third umpire and Dean was ruled out, giving India a 16-run win.

Dean didn’t have long to mull over her dismissal however, as she, along with England teammates Lauren Bell and Maia Bouchier were in action for Southern Vipers the next day. Dean, coming on to bowl in the eighth over of the match, addressed the elephant in the room almost immediately; before her second ball of the game she jokingly warned non-striker Linsey Smith for almost leaving her crease.

The moment drew amused reactions, with Dean praised for addressing the controversy in a light-hearted manner.

Watch: Charlie Dean ‘warns’ Linsey Smith with her second ball of the day

Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99