India Women completed a 3-0 ODI whitewash over England after a narrow 16-run win at Lord’s, although the manner of the final dismissal – a run out at the non-striker’s end – has divided opinion.
Until Charlie Dean was dismissed by bowler Deepti Sharma at the non-striker’s end in her delivery stride, England looked like they were closing in on an incredible heist. At that point, Dean had moved to 47 off 79 deliveries, having walked out with the score on 65-7, and spearheading the chase from No.9. When Deepti started the 44th over, England required 18 runs, with Dean being accompanied by No.11 Freya Davies.
Off the third delivery of the over – with England needing 17 more to win – Deepti, upon noticing Dean wandering out of the non-striker’s crease, turned around and knocked off the bails. Umpire Martin Saggers proceeded to consult leg-umpire Anna Harris, before adjudging Dean out.
The decision was met with collective disbelief from the England dressing room; Dean herself broke into tears, shaking hands and walking off as she was consoled by Davies. In all the drama, the retiring Jhulan Goswami’s swansong took a backseat, before the India players brought her back to public attention, carrying her in their arms as a final gesture of respect.
According to the MCC lawbook – specifically, Law 41.16.1 – the dismissal is deemed legitimate. In the past, the manner of dismissal had been referred to as ‘Mankading’, before the ICC moved it from the ‘Unfair Play’ section to ‘Run Out’, to be brought into effect from October 1.
The law reads: “If the non-striker is out of his/her ground at any time from the moment the ball comes into play until the instant when the bowler would normally have been expected to release the ball, the non-striker is liable to be Run out. In these circumstances, the non-striker will be out Run out if he/she is out of his/her ground when his/her wicket is put down by the bowler throwing the ball at the stumps or by the bowler’s hand holding the ball, whether or not the ball is subsequently delivered.”
When asked about the dismissal in the post-match presentation, India captain Harmanpreet Kaur first deflected the question entirely. When asked again by the presenter, she said: “I thought you would ask about the first ten wickets because they also weren’t easy to take. It’s [the run out] part of the game. I don’t think we have done something new. It’s ICC rules and you can always take those chances. I think it shows your awareness – you are aware what batters are doing. I will back my player, because I don’t think she has done something which is not ICC rules and part of the game. At the end of the day, a win is a win, and you need to enjoy it”.
The dismissal was met with reactions from both ends of the argument. Quite a few weren’t impressed with the manner in which the thrilling game concluded:
A run out? Terrible way to finish the game
— Stuart Broad (@StuartBroad8) September 24, 2022
There’s surely not a person who has played the game that thinks this is acceptable?
Just not cricket… https://t.co/VLGeddDlrz
— Sam Billings (@sambillings) September 24, 2022
Will never understand why players feel the need to do this. Is she stealing ground? pic.twitter.com/KJi1Rgzmdi
— James Anderson (@jimmy9) September 24, 2022
Goswami's final match and you want to end it by being booed by the crowd? Nice.
— Raf Nicholson (@RafNicholson) September 24, 2022
Others were in favour of Deepti’s actions:
— Isabelle Westbury (@izzywestbury) September 24, 2022
It shouldn’t be difficult for the non striker to stay in their crease til the ball has left the hand…
— Alex Hales (@AlexHales1) September 24, 2022
R Ashwin, though, had the perfect tweet to close the night:
Why the hell are you trending Ashwin? Tonight is about another bowling hero @Deepti_Sharma06 🤩👏
— Ashwin 🇮🇳 (@ashwinravi99) September 24, 2022