The independent voice of cricket

Indian Premier League 2021

IPL 2021 Orange Cap: Highest run-getter and list of past winners | Indian Premier League

IPL Orange Cap
by Wisden Staff 2 minute read

The Orange Cap is awarded to the highest run-getter of each season in the IPL – here’s the list of previous winners, along with details of the award.

The IPL 2021 will be held from April 8, 2021, to May 30, 2021 – here’s the complete schedule for the tournament.

IPL 2021 Orange Cap

Shikhar Dhawan – 85 runs
Prithvi Shaw – 72 runs
Suresh Raina – 54 runs
Chris Lynn – 49 runs
AB de Villiers – 48 runs
Glenn Maxwell – 39 runs
Moeen Ali – 36 runs
Sam Curran – 34 runs
Virat Kohli – 33 runs
Suryakumar Yadav – 31 runs

You can check the IPL 2021 points table here.

What is an Orange Cap?

The IPL awards the Orange Cap each season to the highest run-getter of the season. The list of runs are updated after every game. The player who is at the top of the run charts wears a symbolic orange-coloured cap when they are on the field.

[bet365 code=365_01020496

In case there is a tie, the batsman with a superior run-rate is awarded the cap.

List of past IPL Orange Cap winners

Year Winners (Player) Runs
2020   KL Rahul (KXIP)    670
2019    David Warner (SRH)    692
2018    Kane Williamson (SRH)    735
2017    David Warner (SRH)    641
2016    Virat Kohli (RCB)    973
2015    David Warner (SRH)    562
2014    Robin Uthappa (KKR)    660
2013    Michael Hussey (CSK)    733
2012    Chris Gayle (RCB)    733
2011    Chris Gayle (RCB)    608
2010    Sachin Tendulkar (MI)    618
2009   Matthew Hayden (CSK)   572
2008   Shaun Marsh (KXIP)    616

History of Orange Cap winners

The first Orange Cap winner was Australia’s Shaun Marsh, who scored 616 runs @ 68.44 for Kings XI Punjab, hitting one century and five fifties in the competition. The record for the most runs in a single season belongs to Virat Kohli, who scored 973 runs @ 81.08, with as many as four tons to his name.

What happened in 2020?

KL Rahul finished at the top of the pile last year, scoring 670 runs @ 55.83 (strike-rate 129.34) in IPL 2020. He was followed on the list by Shikhar Dhawan, who scored 618 runs.

Currently, Virat Kohli leads the all-time run-getters list and is just 124 runs short of reaching 6,000 runs.

Subscribe to the Wisden Cricket YouTube channel for post-match awards, player interviews, analysis and much more.

Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99