The independent voice of cricket

Indian Premier League 2020

From Kohli to Rohit – Players with the most IPL defeats to their name

by Wisden Staff 4-minute read

Robin Uthappa became the player with the most IPL defeats after Kolkata Knight Riders beat Rajasthan Royals in IPL 2020 on Wednesday. But who are the players alongside him in the top five of the list?

All of the players here have featured in each of the 13 IPL seasons and are among the top 15 players with the most IPL appearances to their name. The order of this list could still change with the 13th edition of the league still in its nascent stage.

Note: Super Over results haven’t been included.

AB de Villiers & Amit Mishra – 79

Tied at the fifth spot are two former Delhi Daredevils teammates. Amit Mishra, currently playing for Delhi Capitals, has represented Deccan Chargers and Sunrisers Hyderabad as well, featuring in a total of 149 IPL matches. De Villiers, on the other hand, is the overseas player with the most IPL appearances – 157, but 79 of those have finished in a defeat.

Open Account Offer – Up to ₹4000 in Bet Credits for new customers at bet365. Min deposit ₹400. Bet Credits available for use upon settlement of bets to value of 12 times qualifying deposit. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&Cs apply. The bonus code WISDEN can be used during registration, but does not change the offer amount in any way.

Rohit Sharma – 85

Rohit Sharma is the most successful captain in the tournament’s history with four IPL titles. And yet, he also has 85 losses to his name in 191 appearances for Deccan Chargers and Mumbai Indians, which puts him in the fourth spot on this list. Rohit won’t be concerned about this record, however, as he tries to complete a successful title defence for the first time in his captaincy stint with MI.

Dinesh Karthik – 87

With 185 IPL match for six different franchises – Delhi Daredevils, Gujarat Lions, Kings XI Punjab, Mumbai Indians, Royal Challengers Bangalore and Kolkata Knight Riders – under his belt, Karthik has the fourth-most number of appearances in the IPL. But that also means that he is one of the players with the most defeats – 87.

Virat Kohli – 90

The only player to have played for the same franchise in all 13 IPL seasons, Kohli is neck-and-neck with Uthappa for the unwanted record of the most defeats. He currently has 90 IPL losses to his name in 180 matches. Now that Uthappa has overtaken him on the list, Kohli will hope that RCB finish the season with a better record than Rajasthan Royals to save him from holding the record again.

Robin Uthappa – 91

Robin Uthappa surpassed Kohli’s number of defeats with Rajasthan Royals’ first loss of the ongoing IPL season, against his former side Kolkata Knight Riders [ KKR ]. Uthappa has represented five franchises in his IPL career so far – Royal Challengers Bangalore, Mumbai Indians, Pune Warriors, KKR and Rajasthan Royals – featuring in a total of 180 matches, 91 of which have ended in a defeat.

Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99