The independent voice of cricket

Big Bash League 2020/21

BBL 2020: Sydney Sixers team guide, schedule & squad list – Big Bash League

BBL 2020/21 schedule
by Wisden Staff 2 minute read

Here’s everything you need to know about the team Sydney Sixers, the defending champions, ahead of the tenth edition of the Big Bash League 2020 (BBL 2020).

The Sydney Sixers, after a highly successful season in 2019/20, will aim to continue in similar vein and defend their prized trophy under the leadership of Moises Henriques. Their coach, Greg Shipperd, will have an altogether different challenge defending the title this season, than guiding them to it last time around.

Sydney Sixers BBL team preview

The Sixers have finished in the top four thrice in the last four years, and went on to win their second BBL title last year. They will want to be in a comfortable position on the table before the likes of Mitchell Starc and Nathan Lyon return to the squad after the culmination of the Border-Gavaskar trophy. They have the required firepower to go all the way, as they showed last year, but the absence of an out and out overseas match-winner might hurt their chances.

Sydney Sixers squad list

Moises Henriques (c), Tom Rogers, Lawrence Neil-Smith, Dan Christian, Ben Dwarshuis, Jack Edwards, Justin Avendano, Daniel Hughes, Hayden Kerr, Nick Bertus, Ben Manenti, Steve O’Keefe, Josh Philippe, Lloyd Pope, Jordan Silk, Gurinder Sindhu, James Vince, Carlos Brathwaite, Jason Holder

Full BBL 2020/21 squad list

Key domestic player: Josh Philippe

The wicketkeeper-batsman was the Sixers’ top run-getter in their title-winning 2019/20 BBL campaign, and is their third-highest run-scorer overall. Though he wasn’t at his best in the IPL 2020 for Royal Challengers Bangalore, returning to the familiar conditions at home is expected to spark form in him. Moreover, with the T20 World Cup less than a year away, Philippe will know a good tournament will push his claims for a international spot.

BBL Sydney Sixers Team

Carlos Brathwaite will be a game-changer if he can find form

Key overseas player: Carlos Brathwaite

Brathwaite returns for a second stint with the Sixers and will be crucial to their chances. In the 2017/18 season, the all-rounder failed with the bat, but picked up six wickets in four appearances. His recent exploits in the T20 arena doesn’t paint a great picture, but if Brathwaite gets going, Sixers’ opponents will find it hard to get the better of the defending champions.

Sydney Sixers BBL schedule

* all times in local time

Dec 10, 2020, Hobart Hurricanes v Sydney Sixers, Blundstone Arena, 7:15 pm
Dec 13, 2020, Sydney Sixers v Melbourne Renegades, Blundstone Arena, 7.15 pm
Dec 20, 2020, Sydney Sixers v Adelaide Strikers, Blundstone Arena, 11.10 am
Dec 26, 2020, Sydney Sixers v Melbourne Stars, Metricon Stadium, 8.20 pm
Dec 29, 2020, Melbourne Renegades v Sydney Sixers, Metricon Stadium, 5.10 pm
Jan 2, 2021, Brisbane Heat v Sydney Sixers, The Gabba, 7.15 pm
Jan 3, 2021, Adelaide Strikers v Sydney Sixers, Metricon Stadium, 6.15 pm
Jan 6, 2021, Perth Scorchers v Sydney Sixers, Optus Stadium, 4.15 pm
Jan 10, 2021, Sydney Sixers v Brisbane Heat, Metricon Stadium, 6.15 pm
Jan 13, 2021, Sydney Thunder v Sydney Sixers, Sydney Showground Stadium, 7.15 pm
Jan 16, 2021, Sydney Sixers v Perth Scorchers, SCG, 6.40 pm
Jan 22, 2021, Sydney Sixers v Sydney Thunder, SCG, 7.15 pm
Jan 24, 2021, Sydney Sixers v Hobart Hurricanes, SCG, 7.15 pm
Jan 26, 2021, Melbourne Stars v Sydney Sixers, MCG, 7.50 pm

Full BBL 2020/21 fixture list and schedule

Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99