The independent voice of cricket

Big Bash League 2020/21

BBL 2020: Melbourne Renegades team guide, schedule & squad list – Big Bash League

Melbourne Renegades BBL team
by Wisden Staff 3 minute read

Here’s all you need to know about the Melbourne Renegades team, led by Aaron Finch, ahead of the 2020/21 Big Bash League [ BBL ], which begins on December 10.

The Melbourne Renegades team, who won the Big Bash League in 2018/19, are based out of the Australian state of Victoria. Apart from their win in the BBL two years, they have reached the semi-finals in 2012/13 and 2017/18, but have failed to qualify to the top four for the rest of the editions.

Melbourne Renegades BBL team preview

The Melbourne Renegades team, led by Aaron Finch and coached by Michael Klinger, would be hoping to put behind the performances of the last BBL season, when they finished last in their title defence.  The team has a strong list of overseas imports such as Mohammad Nabi, Imran Tahir and Imad Wasim, while also having an experienced domestic line-up in Finch, James Pattinson, Shaun Marsh and Kane Richardson.

Key domestic player: James Pattinson

Pattinson has not played a T20I since 2012, but showed how impactful he still is in the shortest format, during his recent stint with Mumbai Indians in IPL 2020. Pattinson is accurate with the new ball, and can employ his cutters judiciously at the death, making him a useful option to have throughout.

Key international player: Mohammad Nabi

A proven T20 all-rounder, Nabi will be itching to get some game time after having spent the majority of his stint in IPL 2020 on the Sunrisers Hyderabad benches. In BBL, he strikes the ball at 130.77 and has taken 21 wickets at an economy of 7.17.

Melbourne Renegades squad list

Aaron Finch (c), Cameron Boyce, Zak Evans, Jake Fraser-McGurk, Beau Webster, Sam Harper, Marcus Harris, Mackenzie Harvey, Jon Holland, Josh Lalor, Shaun Marsh, James Pattinson, Mitch Perry, Jack Prestwidge, Kane Richardson, Will Sutherland, Mohammad Nabi (Afghanistan), Rilee Rossouw (South Africa), Imran Tahir (South Africa), Imad Wasim (Pakistan), Noor Ahmad (Afghanistan), Benny Howell (England – overseas replacement), Brody Couch (replacement player), Peter Hatzoglou (replacement player)

Full list of BBL squads

Melbourne Renegades BBL schedule

Dec 12, 2020, Melbourne Renegades v Perth Scorchers, Blundstone Arena, 7:15 pm

Dec 13, 2020, Sydney Sixers v Melbourne Renegades, Blundstone Arena, 7.15 pm

Dec 19, 2020, Hobart Hurricanes v Melbourne Renegades, Blundstone Arena, 11.10 am

Dec 26, 2020, Sydney Thunder v Melbourne Renegades, Manuka Oval, 6.10 pm

Dec 29, 2020, Melbourne Renegades v Sydney Sixers, Metricon Stadium, 5.10 pm

Jan 1, 2021, Melbourne Renegades v Sydney Thunder, TBC, 7.15 pm

Jan 3, 2021, Perth Scorchers v Melbourne Renegades, TBC, 4.05 pm

Jan 5, 2021, Melbourne Renegades v Adelaide Strikers, TBC, 7.15pm

Jan 8, 2021, Adelaide Strikers v Melbourne Renegades, TBC, 6.10 pm

Jan 14, 2021, Brisbane Heat v Melbourne Renegades, TBC, 7.15 pm

Jan 17, 2021, Melbourne Stars v Melbourne Renegades, TBC, 7.15 pm

Jan 20, 2021, Melbourne Renegades v Melbourne Stars, TBC, 7.15 pm

Jan 23, 2021, Melbourne Renegades v Brisbane Heat, TBC, 4.05 pm

Jan 26, 2021, Melbourne Renegades v Hobart Hurricanes, TBC, 4.15 pm

Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99