Wisden

The independent voice of cricket

LIVE SCORES
County Championship 2022

Watch: Stuart Broad celebrappeal backfires as umpire adjudges batter ‘not out’ following lengthy caught-behind shout

by Wisden Staff 2 minute read

Nottinghamshire’s Stuart Broad’s confident celebrappeal for a caught-behind was turned down after the on-field umpire adjudged Middlesex opener Sam Robson not out in a 2022 County Championship clash on Friday.

Nottinghamshire’s close-in fielders were jubilant after the last ball of Broad’s first over snuck through the opener’s defence and wicketkeeper Tom Moores dived to his right to collect the ball. The England quick, just like the rest of his teammates, was confident that Robson nicked off, and started celebrating in his follow-through. However, he was in for disappointment as the umpire did not raise his finger, with the commentator saying, “the celebrappeal does not work on this occasion”.

Robson, however, was dismissed soon after, departing for nine clean bowled by James Pattinson. Nottinghamshire had earlier scored 415 in their first innings, with Haseeb Hameed making 112.

Broad, playing his second game for the Notts this year, had a memorable outing against Worcestershire last week, making a quick-fire 45* with the bat, and picking up 1-42 and 4-72 in the two innings.

Watch Broad’s celebrappeal turned down in 2022 County Championship here:

 

Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
LEARN MORE
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99

SUBSCRIBE