Shubman Gill has responded to the Cameron Green catch controversy which saw him dismissed in the World Test Championship final today (June 10) on social media.
Gill was given out caught at gully on the fourth day of the showpiece clash at the Kia Oval, with Green completing an athletic grab following a TV umpire review. Match official Richard Kettleborough ruled that Green had taken a clean catch, obtaining full control of the ball and his body before the ball had hit the ground. However, many questioned the decision, feeling that the ball had hit the turf between Green’s fingers.
Gill, the batter dismissed, has seemingly made his feelings clear in a series of social media posts accompanying a screengrab of Green’s supposed infraction.
On Twitter, he posted a pair of magnifying glass emojis along with a facepalm emoji, while on Instagram he went with a series of clap emojis. Given the context of his tweet, the clap emojis have been interpreted as being sarcastic.
— Shubman Gill (@ShubmanGill) June 10, 2023
Instagram story by Shubman Gill. pic.twitter.com/P4hDyzpyS5
— Johns. (@CricCrazyJohns) June 10, 2023
“The ball went into his hand maybe six-eight inches above the ground,” he said on ICC commentary. “But the question I’ve got was, did any part of the ball actually touch the ground just after it completed the catch? To me, it had carried, it looked like it had gone into his hand six-eight inches above the ground.
“The ball went into his hand, no doubt about that, but did it actually then roll over and then touch the top of the surface? Did any part touch the ground? If it did, the umpire has to adjudicate whether he feels Green is in complete control before it touched the ground.”
India went to stumps with their World Test Championship final hopes just about intact, placed on 164-3 and requiring another 280 runs to win.