The independent voice of cricket

World Test Championship 2021/23

Watch: Out or not out? The controversial Cameron Green catch of Shubman Gill in the World Test Championship final

Watch: Cam Green catch dismissed Shubman Gill | WTC final | IND vs AUS
by Wisden Staff 2 minute read

Watch: Shubman Gill was dismissed in controversial circumstances in the World Test Championship final against Australia, with debate raging over whether the one-handed catch by Cam Green in slips was indeed a legitimate one.

The dismissal occurred off the first ball of the eight over, when Gill tried to negotiate a Scott Boland delivery that lifted off length. The ball carried a thick outside edge and flew to gully, where Green dived to his left and plucked a one-handed stunner. The Australia players started celebrating, Gill stood his ground, and the umpires went upstairs to check its legitimacy.

The questions in front of TV umpire Richard Kettleborough were: whether Green’s fingers were cleanly underneath the ball and if he was in complete control of the grab. Here’s what the laws say.


Kettleborough inferred that Green was in control of the catch, with the following question being whether the ball had touched the ground. Eventually, he decided that Gill was indeed out.

Watch the Green catch to dismiss Gill


View this post on Instagram


A post shared by ICC (@icc)

To bet on the World Test Championship final with our Match Centre partners bet365, head here.

Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99