The independent voice of cricket

World Test Championship 2021/23

WTC final 2023 umpires and referees: Full list of match officials for the IND vs AUS final

wtc final
by Wisden Staff 2 minute read

The ICC have announced the team that will officiate the WTC final between India at Australia at the Oval next week – here’s a full list of umpires and match referees for IND vs AUS.

The box-office clash will take place between June 7 and 11 in South London, with both sides looking for their first World Test Championship trophy. India reached the final last year but lost in the rain-affected final to New Zealand.

Michael Gough and Richard Illingworth officiated the match two years ago, with the latter set to reprise the task this time around. Richard Kettleborough is also set to officiate in his second WTC Final.


The other on-field umpire apart from Illingworth will be Chris Gaffaney, who will stand in his 49th Test match. Kumar Dharmasena will be the fourth umpire for the occasion, while Richie Richardson will be the match referee.

The lineup, with officials from four different countries, marks a change from the last edition of the event, where an all-English panel was selected for the match at Southampton.

Match officials for the 2023 WTC final

On-field Umpires:

Chris Gaffaney & Richard Illingworth

TV Umpire:

Richard Kettleborough

Fourth Umpire:

Kumar Dharmasena

Match Referee:

Richie Richardson

Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99