The independent voice of cricket

World Test Championship 2021/23

IND vs AUS, WTC final: List of reserve players for India and Australia | World Test Championship final

Rohit Sharma and Pat Cummins pose with Border–Gavaskar Trophy, Nagpur 2023
by Wisden Staff 3 minute read

India and Australia will clash at the World Test Championship 2021-23 final at The Oval from June 7. Here is the list of IND v AUS WTC final reserve players.

Australia (152 points at 66.7 percent) and India (127 points at 58.8 percent) finished at the top of the league stage of the World Test Championship 2021-23, in that order, to qualify for the final, to be played at The Oval from June 7.

Australia toured India for the last Test series for both teams in the league phase. India went up with wins in Nagpur and Delhi. Australia pulled one back with a win in Indore, but India clinched the series after a draw in Ahmedabad.


Both teams had announced their squads and reserves some time ago, and confirmed the same on May 28. Ruturaj Gaikwad, one of the Indian reserves, will get married and has opted out. India have replaced Gaikwad with Yashasvi Jaiswal, who joined Mukesh Kumar and Suryakumar Yadav to complete the trio of reserves.

India have been depleted by injuries, with former captain Jasprit Bumrah, Rishabh Pant, and Shreyas Iyer all missing the final. The dates of their availability remain unconfirmed.

Australia have, meanwhile, have a full squad at their disposal. They have also named two reserves – Mitchell Marsh and Matt Renshaw.

IND vs AUS, WTC final: Squads and reserve players for India and Australia | World Test Championship final


Squad: Pat Cummins (c), Steve Smith (vc), Alex Carey (wk), David Warner, Usman Khawaja, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Starc, Josh Hazlewood, Marnus Labuschagne, Scott Boland, Cam Green, Marcus Harris, Josh Inglis, Todd Murphy. Reserves: Mitchell Marsh, Matt Renshaw.


Squad: Rohit Sharma (c), KS Bharat (wk), Ishan Kishan (wk), Virat Kohli, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Shubman Gill, Axar Patel, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Shardul Thakur, Umesh Yadav, Jaydev Unadkat. Reserves: Suryakumar Yadav, Mukesh Kumar, Yashasvi Jaiswal.

Subscribe to the Wisden Cricket YouTube channel for post-match analysis, player interviews, and much more.

Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99