The independent voice of cricket

Vijay Hazare Trophy 2022/23

6, 6, 6, 6, NB6, 6, 6: Ruturaj Gaikwad hits 43 in an over to equal world record

Ruturaj Gaikwad six
by Wisden Staff 5 minute read

Playing against Uttar Pradesh in the 2022/23 Vijay Hazare Trophy quarter-final, Maharashtra captain Ruturaj Gaikwad hit seven sixes in an over to equal a List A record.

Gaikwad cut loose in the 49th over of the match in Ahmedabad, against left-arm spinner Shiva Singh, who, until that point, had reasonable figures of 8-0-45-0. Maharashtra were 272-5 at this point, with Gaikwad on 165 from 147 balls and wicketkeeper Satyajit Nawale on a four-ball one.

Shiva’s first ball soared over mid wicket for six. The second cleared long-on, the third between mid-wicket and square leg, and the fourth went over long-off. Shiva overstepped at this point, and the next ball sailed over long-off as well. The next two balls – the first being a free hit – cleared the wide long-on fence.


Shiva equalled Willem Ludick’s world record for conceding most runs in an over in List A cricket. In a Ford Trophy match of 2018/19, Central Districts medium pacer Luddick conceded four, six (off a no-ball), six (off a no-ball), six, one to Brett Hampton of Northern Districts. Then Joe Clarke got strike, and hit a six off each of the last three balls of the over.

The world record of most runs in a List A over by a single batter is now 42, six runs clear of the erstwhile 36. Herschelle Gibbs and Jaskaran Malhotra are the only ones to have done this in ODIs, off Daan van Bunge and Gaudi Toka respectively, while Elton Chigumbura (off Alauddin Babu), JP Duminy (off Eddie Leie), and Thisara Perera (off Dilhan Cooray) have hit six sixes in other List A matches. Babu’s over went for 39 and Leie’s for 37: they bowled extras.

The sixth of these shots took Gaikwad to his first List double-hundred. He finished on an unbeaten 220, from 159 balls, with 10 fours and 16 sixes. Gaikwad’s 16 sixes are now a new record in the Vijay Hazare Trophy: he went past N Jagadeesan’s 15, set earlier in the tournament. Of Indians, only Rohit Sharma has hit 16 sixes (during his famous 264), and even around the world, only D’Arcy Short (23), Gerrie Snyman (17), and Eoin Morgan (17) have hit more.


Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99