The independent voice of cricket

New Zealand v England

NZ vs ENG 2023, squad: Full player list & team news for New Zealand v England

England will play New Zealand in 2 Tests - here is the NZ vs ENG squad
by Wisden Staff 1 minute read

England will play a two-match Test series against New Zealand beginning February 16. Here is the NZ vs ENG squad, including full team lists for both teams.

This series holds massive significance for both sides. England arrive having won in Pakistan, and have undergone a transformation under Ben Stokes. Ben Duckett returned to the side in Pakistan and scored a hundred in his first innings back. Harry Brook has also been performed well since his debut against South Africa, with Joe Root and Stokes being as dependable as ever.

The bowling has also looked in fine fettle. James Anderson has continued his excellent standards, as has Ollie Robinson. They will be joined by Matthew Potts and Stuart Broad for this series, and the quartet would be hoping to enjoy a good outing. Jack Leach has been selected as England’s frontline spinner and would want to prove that he can perform in different conditions than the spin friendly conditions he enjoyed in Pakistan.


New Zealand, on the other hand, will want to quickly put aside the disappointment of not winning a Test in Pakistan. Their home form has also been patchy in the last year or so, having lost Tests to Bangladesh and South Africa. Tim Southee remains at the helm after Kane Williamson stepped down prior to the away series against Pakistan. Daryl Mitchell, Devon Conway and Tom Latham will have key roles to play with the bat, alongside former skipper Williamson.

On the bowling front, New Zealand would hope that Kyle Jamieson gets back to his best after a long injury lay-off. Matt Henry and Neil Wagner are also very capable bowlers, and form a strong pace attack alongside Southee.

The first Test takes place at the Bay Oval in Mount Maunganui. The Basin Reserve in Wellington, meanwhile, will host the second Test.

NZ vs ENG squad: Complete team list

New Zealand: Tim Southee (captain), Michael Bracewell, Tom Blundell (wk), Devon Conway, Matt Henry, Kyle Jamieson, Tom Latham, Daryl Mitchell, Henry Nicholls, Ish Sodhi, Blair Tickner, Neil Wagner, Kane Williamson, Will Young

England: Ben Stokes (captain), James Anderson, Stuart Broad, Harry Brook, Zak Crawley, Ben Duckett, Ben Foakes (wk), Will Jacks, Dan Lawrence, Jack Leach, Ollie Pope, Matthew Potts, Ollie Robinson, Joe Root, Olly Stone

Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99