The independent voice of cricket

India Women v England Women 2023/24

Watch: Sophie Ecclestone takes stunning caught & bowled reminiscent of Starc non-catch in 2023 Ashes

by Wisden Staff 1 minute read

Watch: Sophie Ecclestone claimed a diving one-handed catch in her follow through to dismiss wicketkeeper Richa Ghosh during the second India-England T20I on Saturday (December 9).

Ghosh was dismissed for four, falling to a caught-and-bowled by Ecclestone, who dived to her left to take a controversial low catch. The ball was on off-stump and Ghosh looked to play it back on the front foot. It kept low and was going past the bowler, but Ecclestone leapt down in time, extended her bowling arm and managed to hold onto the ball.

However, as she completed the catch, a portion of the ball potentially grazed the grass. The third umpire, however, was confident that Ecclestone caught it cleanly, and ruled Ghosh out after watching a few replays.

The grab was reminiscent of Mitchell Starc’s non-catch of Ben Duckett during the 2023 Ashes at Lord’s where the umpire ruling the Australia quick had pressed the ball into the turf as he slid and before he gained complete control of the catch. Duckett was eventually given not out, with the MCC clarifying that the right decision was made. In this instance, it wasn’t totally clear whether or not the ball grazed the turf before Ecclestone had full control of her movement.

India were shot out for 80 and have lost the T20I series.

Watch Ecclestone’s catch here:

Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99