The independent voice of cricket

Ashes 2023

Watch: Mitchell Starc catch controversially ruled ‘not out’ after ball is pressed to the turf

by Ben Gardner 3 minute read

Watch: There was a controversial incident late on day four of the second Ashes Test at Lord’s, with an attempted catch by Mitchell Starc ruled ‘not out’ by the TV umpire.

Ben Duckett was the batter reprieved. He had just brought up his half-century, but looked to have been seen off for exactly 50 when he failed to control an uppercut, sending a chance to Starc on the fine leg boundary.

The left-arm quick initially caught the ball cleanly, and Duckett began walking to the pavilion. However, just before he reached the boundary, he was asked to wait, with the TV umpire judging if the catch was fair or not.


Replays revealed that Starc had pressed the ball into the turf as he slid, before he had gained complete control of his movement. Duckett was called back, and he and Ben Stokes saw England through to stumps.

There was some debate over whether the correct decision had been reached, but a statement from the MCC, the custodians of the Laws of Cricket, clarified that there had been no error from the umpires.

Watch the controversial Mitchell Starc catch below:

You can bet on the 2023 Ashes with our Match Centre partners, bet365.

Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99