The independent voice of cricket

India v Sri Lanka 2023

Watch: Rohit Sharma retracts appeal after Mohammed Shami attempts pre-delivery run out of Dasun Shanaka, on 98

Mohammed Shami takes off Dasun Shanaka's bails and shares a joke with Rohit Sharma
by Wisden Staff 2 minute read

Watch: There was a moment of controversy at the end of the first India-Sri Lanka ODI, with Mohammed Shami attempting a pre-delivery run out of Dasun Shanaka, and India captain Rohit Sharma withdrawing the appeal.

Shanaka, on 98 at the time, went on to complete his century, but India were comfortable victors.

The moment came in the final over of Sri Lanka’s chase. India were assured of victory, with Sri Lanka requiring 83 from the last three balls, and the only point of interest whether Shanaka would make his century.


He began the final over on 95, and hit a two, a dot and a single to take him within two runs of his century. However, he was off-strike, and perhaps in his desperation to have a chance at a milestone, edged out of his ground just before Shami’s arm came over.

Spotting this, Shami swung his arm back and removed the bails, holding the ball up and smiling as he appealed. The umpire signalled that a review would take place and Shanaka had a sheepish smile on his face, but Rohit intervened, talking to Shami who tapped the umpire on his back to retract the appeal.

The controversial mode of dismissal has been in the spotlight in the past few months, with Deepti Sharma using it to seal a win against England in an ODI at Lord’s in September, and Adam Zampa sparking a debate over the laws of the game with his struck-down attempt in the BBL.

Watch the Shami appeal and the Rohit retraction below:

Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99