The independent voice of cricket

India v Sri Lanka 2023

IND vs SL squads, 2022 T20Is: Full team lists | India v Sri Lanka 2023

Arshdeep Singhof India celebrates a wicket during game three of the T20 International series between New Zealand and India
by Wisden Staff 3 minute read

India will take on Sri Lanka in their first assignment of the new year, in a three match series beginning on January 3 – here are the full squad lists for IND v SL.

The series will get underway at the Wankhede stadium in Mumbai before the teams travel to Pune and Rajkot for the other matches matches. A three-match ODI series will follow the T20Is.

Rohit Sharma has not played for India since he picked up a thumb injury in the second ODI of the Bangladesh tour. He will sit out of these T20Is as well, as Hardik Pandya will captain India with Suryakumar Yadav deputising. Rishabh Pant has also been left out of India’s T20I squad, while Virat Kohli and KL Rahul have been rested. Shivam Mavi and Mukesh Kumar earned maiden T20I call-ups after impressive performances in the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy, with Umran Malik back in the squad for the first time since June.


Sri Lanka will be led by limited-overs captain Dasun Shanaka, with ICC number one ranked T20I bowler in the world Wanindu Hasaranga also in the squad. After winning the Asia Cup and qualifying through the group stage in the 2022 T20 World Cup, Sri Lanka finished fourth in Group 1 with wins over Afghanistan and Ireland. After their limited overs series against India, they will travel to New Zealand for a Test, ODI and T20I tour.

India v Sri Lanka 2023 T20Is squads, full team lists:

India T20I squad: Hardik Pandya (c), Suryakumar Yadav (vc), Ishan Kishan (wk), Sanju Samson (wk), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubman Gill, Deepak Hooda, Rahul Tripathi, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Arshdeep Singh, Harshal Patel, Umran Malik, Shivam Mavi, Mukesh Kumar

Sri Lanka T20I squad: Dasun Shanaka (c), Pathum Nissanka, Avishka Fernando, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Kusal Mendis, Dhananjaya de Silva, Charith Asalanka, Wanindu Hasaranga, Ashen Bandara, Maheesh Theekshana, Chamika Karunaratne, Kasun Rajitha, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Dilshan Madushanka, Dunith Wellalage, Pramod Madushan, Lahiru Kumara, Nuwan Thushara


Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99