Rohit Sharma’s decision to recall Dasun Shanaka after the latter was run out at the non-striker’s end in Guwahati met with mixed response.
After being put into bat, India rode on Rohit’s 67-ball 83, Shubman Gill’s 60-ball 70, and Virat Kohli’s 87-ball 113 in the first ODI of the three-match series, at the Barsapara Cricket Stadium in Guwahati. Despite Pathum Nissanka’s spirited 72 and a brisk 47 from Dhananjaya de Silva, Sri Lanka ran out of steam.
They were 206-8 when No.10 Kasun Rajitha joined his captain Dasun Shanaka. With only Dilshan Madushanka left to come, Shanaka played some exquisite shots. Sri Lanka were 288-8 when Mohammed Shami began the last over, against Shanka, five short of a hundred.
Shanaka drove the first ball to long-on for two, but got nothing off the next ball, a yorker. He placed the next ball to deep third to reach 98. With only three balls left, he was understandably keen to get the strike back when Shami ran in to bowl at Rajitha.
Shanaka left the crease even when Shami was running in, allowing the latter to remove the bails – an unusual act for a fast bowler. Shami appealed, and umpire Nitin Menon referred to TV umpire KN Ananthapadmanabhan.
While all this had been taking place, Rohit walked up to Shami. The pair had a word and a laugh before Rohit withdrew the appeal, and Shanaka continued. Rajitha got off the strike next ball (along with four overthrows), and Shanaka ended the innings with a four – to reach his hundred – and a six.
After the match, Murali Kartik asked Rohit about the incident at the presentation ceremony. “Shami … I had no idea he did that. He then went for an appeal,” laughed Rohit. “He’s [Shanaka] batting on 98, we got to be a little [smile] … You got to give it to him, we cannot get him out like that. We wanted to get him out the way we thought we would get him out, but that was not something we thought of.”
Listen to Rohit Sharma’s words here:
— BCCI (@BCCI) January 10, 2023
In September, Deepti Sharma had run out Charlie Dean at Lord’s. Since then, the cricket fraternity has been divided in opinion on the mode of dismissal, and this was no exception. Some mentioned Harmanpreet Kaur, who had led India that day at Lord’s.
When life gives you a chance to be Rohit or Harman, be Harman.
— Lavanya 🎙️🎥👩🏻💻 (@lav_narayanan) January 10, 2023
Sorry Rohit, should have been brave backed your bowler there. Need more of these run-outs at the non-striker's end to normalise it
— Abhimanyu Bose (@bose_abhimanyu) January 10, 2023
So is run out backing up a method of dismissal to be used ONLY in dire situations? Not sure India would have withdrawn the appeal if the opposition was one strike away from a World Cup win. It’s a legitimate mode of dismissal. Either do it full-heartedly or don’t. #INDvSL
— S. Sudarshanan (@Sudarshanan7) January 10, 2023
Shami's mankad was legitimate, and a captain can legitimately withdraw any appeal his team makes. Rohit Sharma doesn't have to be consistent either. If an IND bowler mankads an opponent in a close game, and Rohit Sharma doesn't call him back, that's perfect legit too.
— cricketingview (@cricketingview) January 10, 2023
Rohit shouldn't have withdrawn the appeal.
— Gurkirat Singh Gill (@gurkiratsgill) January 10, 2023
Find this an excellent decision. Certain acts are to be decided based on the situation. Here victory was guaranteed and last over running, there was no harm in withdrawing the appeal. Though he wouldn't have withdrawn if it were a close thriller, and gone with the third umpire. https://t.co/VVNmZIbpot
— Chandrajit Mitra (@chandrajit_) January 10, 2023