The independent voice of cricket

India v Australia 2022/23

India vs Australia 2023, full Test squad: Full team lists and injury news for IND vs AUS | Border Gavaskar Trophy

by Wisden Staff 2 minute read

The much-awaited four-match Test series begins between India and Australia begins on February 9 at Nagpur — here’s the full team lists and squad for the Border-Gavaskar Trophy (BGT) between IND vs AUS including the latest news and injury updates.

Australia will look for their first series win against India in four attempts during the upcoming tour of the subcontinent, which will feature four Tests. The series will begin on February 9 at Nagpur, before the caravan shifts to the capital city of Delhi, where the second game will be played on February 17. The last two Tests will be played on March 1 and March 9.

India v Australia: Injury updates

India: The hosts already have a number of injury concerns. Their premier fast bowler Jasprit Bumrah is yet to recover from a back injury, which also made him miss the T20 World Cup last year. Rishabh Pant, who was involved in a horrific car accident in December, is looking at a long recovery ahead, while Shreyas Iyer has a back injury.


Bumrah and Iyer have been ruled out for the first two Tests for now, while Pant will miss the whole series.

Ravindra Jadeja, who had missed out on international cricket since being ruled out of a knee injury during the Asia Cup, has recovered and joined the India squad.

Australia: Josh Hazlewood joins Mitchell Starc in the injury list, with the former being ruled out due to a left Achilles injury during damp run-ups against South Africa during the SCG Test. Left-arm quick Starc suffered a finger injury during the Boxing Day Test against the Proteas and has been ruled out of the opener. Cameron Green, who also has a finger issue, is available for selection only as a batter.

IND v AUS: Full squad for the 2023 BGT

India (first two Tests): Rohit Sharma (Captain), KL Rahul (vice-captain), Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KS Bharat (wk), Ishan Kishan (wk), R. Ashwin, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammad Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Umesh Yadav, Jaydev Unadkat, Suryakumar Yadav.

Australia: Pat Cummins (Captain), Ashton Agar, Scott Boland, Alex Carey (wk), Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Peter Handscomb, Travis Head, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Lance Morris, Todd Murphy, Matthew Renshaw, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Mitchell Swepson, David Warner.

Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99