The independent voice of cricket

Series Editorial

India squad for 2022 Bangladesh tour: Full Test & ODI team list for IND v BAN

India squad Bangladesh 2022
by Wisden Staff 2 minute read

India have announced their Test and ODI for the upcoming 2022 tour of Bangladesh: here’s the complete squad list for the three-match series.

India is set to tour Bangladesh in December 2022 and is scheduled to play three ODIs and two Tests over the month. Both squads will be led by Rohit Sharma.

Notably, Jasprit Bumrah – currently recovering from a back injury – has not been included in either team. Prithvi Shaw doesn’t find a place either.


India Test squad: No Rahane, Kuldeep returns

The Test squad marks the return of Kuldeep Yadav, who last played a Test in March 2021. Rohit Sharma leads the side, which included a heavy-duty batting lineup consisting of Virat Kohli, Cheteshwar Pujara, KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer and Rishabh Pant. Ajinkya Rahane has not been included. KS Bharat is the backup wicketkeeper.

Among quicks, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj and Umesh Yadav retain their places, while the spin attack is led by Ravichandran Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja.

India Test squad for 2022 Bangladesh tour

Rohit Sharma (C), KL Rahul (VC), Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant (wk), KS Bharat (wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Shardul Thakur, Mohd. Shami, Mohd. Siraj, Umesh Yadav.

India ODI squad: Yash Dayal finds a spot

For ODIs, Rohit Sharma leads the side, which seems to be a good mix of youth and experience, including a fair amount of first-team players as well as youngsters. In the batting, Virat Kohli, Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul and Shreyas Iyer have been included. The experienced names will be joined by some fresh faces in Rahul Tripathi and Rajat Patidar. Two wicketkeepers – Rishabh Pant and Ishan Kishan – have been included.

On the bowling front, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj and Shardul Thakur lend experience, with Deepak Chahar for company. There is also the presence of a new face in Yash Dayal, the left-arm quick who represented Gujarat Titans in the IPL this year.

Among spinners, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel and Washington Sundar have been included.

India ODI squad for 2022 Bangladesh tour

Rohit Sharma (C), KL Rahul (vc), Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli, Rajat Patidar, Shreyas Iyer, Rahul Tripathi, Rishabh Pant (wk), Ishan Kishan (wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Washington Sundar, Shardul Thakur, Mohd. Shami, Mohd. Siraj, Deepak Chahar, Yash Dayal

Update: Mohammed Shami was ruled out following a shoulder injury. Umran Malik has been named his replacement.

Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99