The independent voice of cricket

BBL 2022/23

David Hussey on BBL drama: Zampa told me even if it was given out, we would have withdrawn our appeal

Zampa Hussey run out
by Wisden Staff 2 minute read

Melbourne Stars coach David Hussey has said that Adam Zampa – whose attempted run out of non-striker Tom Rogers was overruled by the umpires – told Fox Sports that “even if it had been given out, we would have withdrawn our appeal anyway.”

Zampa’s attempt to run out Rogers in the Big Bash League clash between Stars and Melbourne Renegades has been discussed and debated extensively on social media since. In the final over of Renegades’ innings, Zampa – in his bowling stride – turned around and clipped the bails at the non-striker’s end with Rogers out of his crease. However, the on-field umpires, after consultation with the TV umpire, did not rule him out, based on Law 38.3.1. The official MCC Twitter account later issuing a clarification: “The bowler is *not* entitled to go all the way around in the bowling action and then run the non-striker out.”

Speaking to the broadcasters, Hussey claimed that Zampa’s actions were more of a warning to the batter, and not an attempt to run him out. This, despite cameras showing Zampa signal ‘out’ to the umpire with his finger after clipping the bails and walking off.


“It’s not the right way to play cricket,” said Hussey. “It was more of a warning to the batter not to leave too early, because at the end of the innings, that’s what generally happens.”

Hussey’s statement was questioned on social media, including a tweet from cricketer-turned-coach Tom Moody, who tweeted “Interesting…‘not the right way to play cricket’ is that the batter stealing ground or the bowler calling the batter out??” to Hussey.

Tabraiz Shamsi replied to Moody’s tweet with “I think the batter stealing ground is what he might be referring to coach. The only valid answer here lol”.

Rogers, who went on to win the Player of the Match after his best Twenty20 figures of 5-16, later said that “nothing too much was said” between him and Zampa in the aftermath of the episode: “When it came up not out I was pretty stoked actually, because it’s been a bit of the flavour of the month I was actually trying to stay in my crease for as long as I could. So I was pretty happy the not out came up because I didn’t think that I had left too early.”

When asked if he was aware of the exact law, Rogers said: “Ah no. But the umpires are doing a great job so we’ll leave it up to them.”

Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99