The independent voice of cricket

Australia v India

India squads for Australia tour: Rahul, Gill, Shaw included for Tests, Natarajan earns maiden T20I call-up

Australia India
by Wisden Staff 2-minute read

India have named their squads for their Test and limited-overs series in Australia.

The BCCI have announced three India squads for their upcoming tour of Australia, which will be held from November 2020 to January 2021, and will mark India’s return to international cricket following the suspension of the game due to the Covid-19 pandemic.

The tour is scheduled to start in November 2020, with a three-match ODI series, and will extend till January 2021, after three T20Is and four Tests. Ishant Sharma and Bhuvneshwar Kumar, who were ruled out of IPL 2020 due to injury, have not been picked in any of the squads but if the former gains full fitness, he will be added to the Test squad, BCCI confirmed in an update.

Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) spinner Varun Chakravarthy, who earned his maiden call-up to the Indian team – initially making it to the T20I squad as the fourth spinner – was unfortunately taken off the squad due to a shoulder injury. T Natarajan was named as his replacement.

Along with the three squads, BCCI have also named two additional bowlers – Ishan Porel and Kartik Tyagi, who will travel with the Indian contingent on tour.

Moreover, captain Virat Kohli will miss the last three Tests after being granted paternity leave by the BCCI.

You can check the full list of fixtures of India’s tour of Australia here.

India Test squad for Australia series

Virat Kohli (C), Rohit Sharma, Mayank Agarwal, Prithvi Shaw, KL Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (vice-captain), Hanuma Vihari, Shubman Gill, Wriddhiman Saha (WK), Rishabh Pant (WK), Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav, Navdeep Saini, Kuldeep Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Mohammed Siraj

India ODI squad for Australia series

Virat Kohli (C), Shikhar Dhawan, Shubman Gill, KL Rahul (VC & WK), Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, Mayank Agarwal, Ravindra Jadeja, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Navdeep Saini, Shardul Thakur, Sanju Samson (WK)

India T20I squad for Australia series

Virat Kohli (C), Shikhar Dhawan, Mayank Agarwal, KL Rahul (VC & WK), Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, Sanju Samson (wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Navdeep Saini, Deepak Chahar, T Natarajan

Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99