The independent voice of cricket


Women’s IPL 2023, all you need to know: Teams, schedule, auction and more | WIPL 2023

The Women's IPL is set to launch this year.
by Wisden Staff 3 minute read

The Women’s IPL is set to launch in March this year with five teams playing in the competition – here’s everything you need to know about the tournament.

The Women’s Indian Premier League will start this year, replacing the previous competition the Women’s T20 Challenge. The tournament is being launched in response to the massive growth of women’s cricket in India and ever increasing demand for the tournament.


Women’s IPL 2023: All you need to know


Five teams will compete against each other in a double round robin league that will then be followed by the play-off stage of the competition.

The competition is scheduled to run across the month of March will fixtures still to be confirmed.


The teams for the WIPL will be decided on January 25 when sealed bids from potential owners will be opened. In total, eight of the ten current IPL franchises have expressed interest in owning a team in the league. According to reports, over 30 companies in total have declared an interest in owning a team.


Squads must contain 18 players with a maximum of six overseas players. Playing XIs are allowed to have five overseas players in total but only four from Full Member nations. The fifth must come from an Associate Member nation.

The current salary cap of the squad sits at INR 12 crore (USD 1.5 million). Under-19 cricketers are not allowed to be picked unless they have already played first-class or List A cricket.


Details for the auction are yet to be finalised but is expected to be held in February. India’s most famous female cricketer Mithali Raj, who retired from international cricket last year, is rumoured to be making herself available for the competition having expressed an interest in returning to cricket for the competition.

Broadcast Deal

Indian network Viacom18 paid 951 crore (US$117.5 million) for the media rights to the inaugural competition making it one of the most valuable T20 leagues in the world. The deal runs for five years from 2023-27 with matches broadcast on Sports18 TV channel and livestreamed on the JioCinema app.

*Article last updated January 23*

Subscribe to the Wisden Cricket YouTube channel for post-match analysis, player interviews, and much more.

Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99