The independent voice of cricket

Women's Cricket

Sarah Taylor left out of India tour as England Women name uncapped trio

by Wisden Staff 15 minute read

England Women have called up three rookies for their upcoming T20 and ODI tour of India while Sarah Taylor has been rested.

Surrey batter Bryony Smith, Kent all-rounder Alice Davidson-Richards and Hampshire left-arm seamer Katie George of Hampshire have been named in the full squad for the first time, while there are also returns for Kate Cross, Tash Farrant and Amy Jones.

The 16-strong group, which will contest a triangular T20I series with India and Australia before a bilateral three-match ODI series against India, doesn’t feature Sarah Taylor or Katherine Brunt, with Brunt unavailable after injuring her back during the Women’s Big Bash League and Taylor rested.

Coach Mark Robinson said his aim was to add new options to his squad in a year that sees England play host to New Zealand and South Africa and take part in the ICC World T20 in the West Indies in November.

“We’ve said for a long time that we need to play more games and it’s exciting that we’ve been able to arrange this very competitive series outside of the ICC Women’s Championship,” said Robinson.

“It gives us a chance to see other players and measure their progress and that also means we can rest and rotate. In Sarah’s case, she’s been doing really well and we always targeted this period as one where she can focus on her well-being in preparation for what will be a busy summer leading into the ICC World T20.

“It’s very exciting to have three new faces in the group – and to welcome back a few others. Obviously that means a few have missed out but they can use the time to their advantage and come back more strongly.”

England will play four T20Is – and, if they make the final, a fifth – between March 22 and March 31 and then three ODIs v India on April 6, April 9 and April 12.


Heather Knight (captain, Berkshire), Tammy Beaumont (Kent), Kate Cross (Lancashire), Alice Davidson-Richards (Kent), Sophie Ecclestone (Lancashire), Tash Farrant (Kent), Katie George (Hampshire), Jenny Gunn (Warwickshire), Alex Hartley (Lancashire), Danielle Hazell (Yorkshire), Amy Jones (wicketkeeper, Warwickshire), Nat Sciver (Surrey), Anya Shrubsole (Somerset), Bryony Smith (Surrey), Fran Wilson (Middlesex), Danni Wyatt (Sussex)

Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99