The independent voice of cricket

Women's Cricket

England Women collect Team of the Year award following World Cup triumph

by Wisden Staff 5 minute read

England Women were named Team of the Year at the BT Action Woman Awards 2017, on the back of their brilliant World Cup victory in the summer.

Former England and Chelsea midfielder Frank Lampard handed over the accolade to Anya Shrubsole and Danni Wyatt, the former having won Player of the Match in the final against the hosts.

Wyatt scored the crucial century that ensured an Ashes draw against Australia in the final T20 game of the series last month.

Tammy Beaumont missed out on her individual nomination for Action Woman of the Year, but showed her delight at her team’s award.

England Women beat hosts India in the final by nine runs, while Shrubsole stole the show with a match-winning 6-46. She was delighted that her team were recognised for their success, and pointed out the significance of the professionalism which has changed England women’s cricket for the better in recent years.

“We can spend more time together as a team training and that’s ultimately how you’ve got to improve.

“Before, we had one tour in the summer, one in the winter and now we’re pretty much playing all year round.”

Shrubsole also praised her team’s character in the Ashes series turnaround which saw them draw 8-8 on points with Australia: “Something we’ve really prided ourselves on recently is resilience, and we had to draw on all of that in those last two games.”

Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99