The independent voice of cricket

Women's Cricket

Controversial no-ball call helps India overcome England in first T20I

by Wisden Staff 2 minute read

A moment of controversy halfway through the first innings in the first T20I between England and India in the tri-series also involving Australia saw Fran Wilson dismissed, despite replays seeming to show Shikha Pandey had overstepped.

On the last ball of the 10th over of England’s innings, with Heather Knight’s team already struggling on 59-3, Wilson wound up for a big shot only to be bowled by Pandey. However, with the India seamer’s front foot having landed close to the popping crease, the dismissal was sent upstairs.

After a long review, taking up over a minute and a half, during which the on-air commentators suggested the decision would be overturned, Wilson was given out by TV umpire Tony Wilds, and England were 59-4.

Through a half-century from Knight and a brisk 37 from Tammy Beaumont, in her new role as a No.6 batter, England made it up close to 150, setting India 148 to win. The chase was a tight one, with England pegging India back regularly, but India captain Harmanpreet Kaur saw her side home with an unbeaten 42, sealing victory in the final over with a six.

The series continues on February 1, with England taking on Australia at Canberra.

Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99