India cantered to a victory against the visiting New Zealand side in the second ODI between the sides, reaching their target of 109 in just over 20 overs for the loss of just two wickets.
It wasn’t without the occasional moment of brilliance from the fielding side, with the stumping of Virat Kohli ending the former captain’s brief stay.
India’s bowlers and Rohit Sharma might have been sharing the spotlight for their respective performances in today’s victory, with the latter’s half century made up of seven fours and two sixes as he led the chase for the Indians.
After Rohit fell lbw to Henry Shipley in the 15th over, Kohli came at the crease. And while he looked good, scoring two boundaries in his nine-ball innings, it took a moment of magic from Kiwi captain Tom Latham to remove him.
With only 11 more runs needed, and perhaps wanting to end the game in under 20 overs, Kohli drove hard at a Mitchell Santner turner.
The ball gripped and moved past the outside edge, settling in Latham’s gloves. Quick as a flash, Latham took the bails off, running to celebrate with Santner before Kohli had time to return to a standing position.
The incident may have been sent to the third umpire, but Kohli knew he had failed to stretch his back foot back into the crease, and walked off immediately.
It was the fifth time Kohli was stumped in the format, and only the first time since 2018. He was stumped once in a T20I in 2021, and is yet to be stumped in Tests.