The independent voice of cricket


South Africa A tour of Sri Lanka 2023, squad: Full team lists for SA vs SL 2023

by Wisden Staff 2 minute read

South Africa A will tour Sri Lanka for a three-match ODI series and two unofficial Test matches. The tour begins on June 4. Here are the whole squad and team list for SL vs SA 2023, including the latest injury reports.

The first unofficial ODI will be played at the Pallekele International Cricket Stadium on June 4. The remaining two games will be held on June 6 and June 8 at the same venue, before the action shifts to Dambulla, where the two unofficial Tests will be played at the Rangiri Dambulla International Stadium.

The first unofficial Test will be played from June 12 to June 15, while the second Test will be held four days later, from June 19 to June 22.


Cricket South Africa announced a 15-member squad for the A series, which will be led by Tony de Zorzi and coached by Shukri Conrad, the head coach of the senior men’s Test team.

A number of internationally capped players have made the squad, including Keegan Petersen, Kyle Verreynne, Gerald Zoetzee and Tristan Stubbs. Promising batter Dewald Brevis has also been included, along with Jordan Hermann and Matthew Breetzke.

Sri Lanka, on the other hand, will be led by 22-year-old Nipun Dananjaya, and will include capped players like Ashen Bandara, Nuwanidu Fernando and Nishan Madushka. The relatively experience bowling attack consists of Dunith Wellalage, Dilshan Madushanka, Lakshan Sandakan and Pramod Madushan.

SL vs SA A 2023, Full squad and team list

Sri Lanka A: Nipun Dananjaya (c), Ashen Bandara, Dilshan Madushanka, Dunith Wellalage, Janith Liyanage, Lakshan Sandakan, Nishan Madushka (wk), Lasith Croospulle, Nuwanidu Fernando, Pramod Madushan, Sahan Arachchige, Lahiru Udara, Nimesh Vimukthi, Milan Priyanath Rathnayake, Isitha Wijesundera

South Africa A: Tony de Zorzi (c), Dewald Brevis, Jordan Hermann, Keegan Petersen, Lizaad Williams, Lutho Sipamla, Matthew Breetzke, Senuran Muthusamy, Sinethemba Qeshile (wk), Tshepo Moreki, Beyers Swanepoel, Zubayr Hamza, Kyle Verreynne, Gerald Coetzee, Tristan Stubbs

Subscribe to the Wisden Cricket YouTube channel for post-match analysis, player interviews, and much more.

Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99