The independent voice of cricket


Smith & Warner axed from 2018 IPL

IPL captains
by Wisden Staff 1 minute read

Steve Smith and David Warner have been axed from the 2018 IPL due to their roles in the Cape Town Test ball-tampering affair.

The BCCI decision was announced by IPL chairman Rajiv Shukla – after news of Cricket Australia’s 12-month bans was revealed.

Smith and Warner had already stood down as captains of their respective franchises, Rajasthan Royals and Sunrisers Hyderabad, on Monday and Wednesday morning, but they will now play no part at all.

A BCCI statement said “The CoA, in consultation with BCCI acting president Mr CK Khanna, IPL chairman Mr Rajeev Shukla and BCCI acting hon. secretary Mr Amitabh Choudhary, has decided to ban Mr Smith and Mr Warner with immediate effect from participation in IPL 2018.

“The BCCI hopes that the cricketers participating in the IPL hold the highest regard for the Spirit of Cricket and Code of Conduct for Players and Match Officials.”

Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99