The independent voice of cricket


No Test call-up for Roy as England announce Test & ODI squads for West Indies

by Wisden Staff 4 minute read

Joe Denly, who is yet to make his Test bow, has retained his place in England’s Test squad after going unused in the three-Test series against Sri Lanka, in what is an unchanged squad from the last match of the recent 3-0 series victory.

There had been rumours that Surrey’s Jason Roy could dislodge the Kent man but England have kept faith with the PCA’s Most Valuable Player for 2018.

David Willey and Tom Curran have been named in the ODI squad, while the latter’s brother, Sam – England’s Player of the Series in this summer’s Test series versus India – is only included in the Test squad.

Tom Curran was one of England’s star performers in the Australia ODI’s

Olly Stone remains in England’s Test team but Mark Wood keeps his place in the 50-over side ahead of the Warwickshire speedster.

England coach Trevor Bayliss has previously stated that Ben Foakes will retain wicketkeeping duties in the Test team after excelling in Sri Lanka, while Jonny Bairstow, the man who has lost the gloves, is likely to bat at No.3 after an emotional hundred in Colombo batting at first drop.

Jonny Bairstow returned to the Test side with a brilliant century in Colombo

The Cricket Discipline Commission (CDC) announced last week that Ben Stokes and Alex Hales will receive no further suspensions for their involvement in a brawl outside a Bristol nightclub in September 2017, and are thus free to play for England in the Caribbean.

England Test squad vs West Indies: Joe Root (Yorkshire; c), Moeen Ali (Worcestershire), Jimmy Anderson (Lancashire), Jonny Bairstow (Yorkshire; wk), Stuart Broad (Nottinghamshire), Rory Burns (Surrey), Jos Buttler (Lancashire; wk), Sam Curran (Surrey), Joe Denly (Kent), Ben Foakes (Surrey; wk), Keaton Jennings (Lancashire), Jack Leach (Somerset), Adil Rashid (Yorkshire), Ben Stokes (Durham), Olly Stone (Warwickshire), Chris Woakes (Warwickshire),

England ODI squad vs West Indies: Eoin Morgan (Middlesex; c) Moeen Ali, Jonny Bairstow, Jos Buttler, Tom Curran (Surrey), Joe Denly, Alex Hales (Nottinghamshire), Liam Plunkett (Surrey), Joe Root, Jason Roy (Surrey), Ben Stokes, David Willey (Yorkshire), Chris Woakes, Mark Wood (Durham).


Like & Share

If you enjoyed this story, please share with your fellow cricket fans and team-mates

Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99