The independent voice of cricket


Ben Stokes in England squad for T20I Tri-Series vs Australia and New Zealand

by Wisden Staff 5 minute read

England’s selectors have named a 16-man squad for the T20I Tri-Series in Australia and New Zealand next month, which includes suspended all-rounder Ben Stokes.

However, the Durham man’s availability is subject to any relevant legal or disciplinary developments in relation to the incident outside a Bristol nightclub in September, which prompted the ECB to suspend him for the Ashes.

Moeen Ali (L) and Jonny Bairstow (R) have been allowed to rest for the T20I Tri-series

Meanwhile, England have opted to rest Jonny Bairstow and Mooen Ali for the tournament, with the the ODI and Test series against New Zealand during the spring in mind.

England’s 16-man T20I squad in full: Eoin Morgan (Captain, Middlesex), Sam Billings (Kent), Jos Buttler (Lancashire), Tom Curran (Surrey), Liam Dawson (Hampshire), Alex Hales (Nottinghamshire), Chris Jordan (Sussex), Dawid Malan (Middlesex), Liam Plunkett (Yorkshire), Adil Rashid (Yorkshire), Joe Root (Yorkshire), Jason Roy (Surrey), Ben Stokes (Durham), James Vince (Hampshire), David Willey (Yorkshire), Mark Wood (Durham).

Sam Billings playing for the Sydney Sixers

Kent batsman Sam Billings, who has been representing the Sydney Sixers in Australia’s Big Bash League, enters the squad alongside James Vince and the fit-again Mark Wood, after the latter was forced to miss the entire Ashes series.

James Whitaker, ECB chairman of selectors, said: “The T20I Tri-Series will be very competitive against quality opposition in Australia and New Zealand. Our limited overs cricket has been progressing nicely across both formats so this tournament will be another indicator on where we are heading as a team over the long-term. Our aim is to become the best T20 side in the world.”

Test captain Joe Root will get the chance to show off his T20 attributes

Unlike Bairstow and Ali, Joe Root and Dawid Malan will not be rested, with Whitaker adding: “We felt it was important for Dawid Malan and Joe Root, who have had an intense period of Test cricket over the past few months, to play in the series and continue to develop their T20 experience and skills.”

Schedule – Gillette International T20I series

Prime Ministers XI v England, Friday February 2, Manuka Oval, Canberra (7.15pm Local Time)

Australia v England, Wednesday February 7, Blundstone Arena, Hobart (7.40pm Local Time)

Australia v England, Saturday February 10, MCG, Melbourne (7.20pm Local Time)

New Zealand v England, Tuesday February 13, Westpac Stadium, Wellington (7.00pm Local Time)

New Zealand v England, Sunday February 18, Seddon Park, Hamilton (7.00pm Local Time)

IT20 Final, Wednesday February 21, Eden Park, Auckland (7.00pm Local Time)

Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99