The independent voice of cricket

International Cricket

Quinton de Kock named as T20I skipper for India tour

by Wisden Staff 5 minute read

Cricket South Africa have announced their Test and T20I squads for the upcoming tour of India, with Quinton de Kock to lead the 20-over side in place of Faf du Plessis. 

Du Plessis has been omitted from the T20I squad but will continue to captain the Test team, which will play three Tests against the Indians in October.

Rassie van der Dussen will be de Kock’s deputy in the T20I arena, while Temba Bavuma has been named as vice-captain in the Test arena.

Rassie van der Dussen will serve as vice-captain in the T20I side

With Dale Steyn retiring from Test cricket and Hashim Amla calling time on his international career, the South African Test squad includes a number of new faces. Fast bowler Anrich Nortje, keeper-batsman Rudi Second and spin-bowling all-rounder Senuran Muthusamy have all received call-ups.

On the leadership changes made in relation to the Proteas’ T20I set-up, CSA’s acting director Corrie van Zyl said: “The T20 series gives us the last chance to have a look at our leadership and batting options as the next edition of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup is now little more than a year away which is why we have gone with an inexperienced leadership group. This is our last chance to do this before we settle on an established squad.

“I would like to stress that Faf du Plessis remains an important part of our plans for white-ball cricket.”

The three-match T20I series will begin on September 15 before the Test series gets underway on October 2.

South Africa Test squad: Faf du Plessis (c), Temba Bavuma (vc), Theunis de Bruyn, Quinton de Kock, Dean Elgar, Zubayr Hamza, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, Senuran Muthusamy, Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje, Vernon Philander, Dane Piedt, Kagiso Rabada, Rudi Second

South Africa T20I squad: Quinton de Kock (c), Rassie van der Dussen (vc), Temba Bavuma, Junior Dala, Bjorn Fortuin, Beuran Hendricks, Reeza Hendricks, David Miller, Anrich Nortje, Andile Phehlukwayo, Dwaine Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, Jon-Jon Smuts


Like & Share

If you enjoyed this story, please share with your fellow cricket fans and team-mates

Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99