The independent voice of cricket

International Cricket

India’s Mandhana wins the Rachael Heyhoe-Flint Award

by Wisden Staff 5 minute read

India’s opening batter Smriti Mandhana has emerged as the big winner from the ICC women’s awards for 2018, winning the Rachael Heyhoe-Flint Award for the ICC Women’s Cricketer of the Year, as well as being named ICC Women’s ODI Player of the Year.

Mandhana, just 22 years of age, was in stellar form across limited-overs formats this year, striking 669 runs at an average of 66.90 in 12 ODIs, and 622 runs in 25 T20Is, as she finished as the third-highest run-getter at the World T20.

Her stellar run of form ensured that she was also included in the ICC Women’s ODI Team of the year and Women’s T20I Team of the Year. Reacting to the news, she said: “The awards are pretty special because as a player when you score runs, you want the team to win, and then when you get acknowledged for your performances through these awards, it motivates you to work harder and do well for your team.”

Another winner at the awards was Australia wicketkeeper Alyssa Healy, who was named the ICC Women’s T20I Player of the Year. Healy starred at the World T20, finishing as the Player of the Tournament after her 225 runs saw her top the run-scoring charts. Like Mandhana, Healy was included in both teams of the year.

England’s Sophie Ecclestone was the winner of the other individual award, receiving the prize for the ICC Women’s Emerging Player of the Year, after the 19-year-old took 35 international wickets in a breakthrough year that saw England reach the final of the World T20.

Ecclestone (right) has enjoyed a brilliant year for England

“I am really delighted to win this award,” said Ecclestone. “The most important thing is winning on the field but it’s nice to be recognised. I work really hard to try and improve my game and I’ve really enjoyed the last 12 months. It was my first full year as an England player after finishing my education so it’s amazing to get an award like this.”

ICC Women’s ODI Team of the Year

1. Smriti Mandhana (India)
2. Tammy Beaumont (England)
3. Suzie Bates (New Zealand) (captain)
4. Dane van Niekerk (South Africa)
5. Sophie Devine (New Zealand)
6. Alyssa Healy (Australia) (wicketkeeper)
7. Marizanne Kapp (South Africa)
8. Deandra Dottin (Windies)
9. Sana Mir (Pakistan)
10. Sophie Ecclestone (England)
11. Poonam Yadav (India)

ICC Women’s T20I Team of the Year 

1. Smriti Mandhana (India)
2. Alyssa Healy (Australia) (wicketkeeper)
3. Suzie Bates (New Zealand)
4. Harmanpreet Kaur (India) (captain)
5. Natalie Sciver (England)
6. Ellyse Perry (Australia)
7. Ashleigh Gardner (Australia)
8. Leigh Kasperek (New Zealand)
9. Megan Schutt (Australia)
10. Rumana Ahmed (Bangladesh)
11. Poonam Yadav (India)

Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99