The independent voice of cricket

International Cricket

England announce squads for South Africa white-ball series

England Squads South Africa
by Wisden Staff 5 minute read

England have announced their squads for the upcoming ODI and T20I series against South Africa.

Surrey left-armer Reece Topley, who featured against Ireland earlier this year in his first international match since 2016,  has been named in both squads.

Lewis Gregory and Liam Livingstone – both of whom are uncapped in ODIs – have landed spots in the 50-over squad, while Warwickshire seamer Olly Stone could be in line to play his first ODI in over two years after his inclusion.

Tom Banton does not find a place in either squad – but has been named as a reserve for both formats. Seamers Jake Ball and Tom Helm are the other two reserves.

Jofra Archer, Sam Curran and Ben Stokes are in the T20I squad but have been rested for the ODIs.

All of England’s matches will be played in bio-secure environments at Newlands in Cape Town and Boland Park in Paarl. The three-match T20I series will begin on November 27, with the first of three ODIs to take place on December 4.

England T20I squad to play South Africa

Eoin Morgan (c), Moeen Ali, Jofra Archer, Jonny Bairstow, Sam Billings, Jos Buttler, Sam Curran, Tom Curran, Chris Jordan, Dawid Malan, Adil Rashid, Jason Roy, Ben Stokes, Reece Topley, Mark Wood

England ODI squad to play South Africa

Eoin Morgan (c), Moeen Ali, Jonny Bairstow, Sam Billings, Jos Buttler, Tom Curran, Lewis Gregory, Liam Livingstone, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, Jason Roy, Olly Stone, Reece Topley, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood

Reserves for both formats

Jake Ball, Tom Banton, Tom Helm

Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99