The independent voice of cricket


Latest ICC men’s T20I rankings: Suryakumar Yadav within striking distance of all-time highest rating in the world

by Wisden Staff 2 minute read

Suryakumar Yadav is eight points short of achieving the highest rating of all time in men’s T20Is, with 908 points to his name, just behind Dawid Malan’s 915 in the all-time list.

‘SKY’ had climbed to 910 points after the first T20I against New Zealand, where he top-scored for India with a 34-run 47 in their eventual defeat. It was his best ever career rating and the second-best overall. Somewhat unusually, he shed two points after the second T20I, where he was named Player of the Match for his unbeaten 31-ball 26 in a difficult chase. He was also named the ICC Men’s T20I Cricketer of 2022 earlier this month.

He is within touching distance of Malan’s ratings, which the latter had achieved in 2020 in Cape Town. However, he continues to top the T20I charts, a rank he first achieved against South Africa during last year’s T20 World Cup.


At second place is Mohammad Rizwan, on 836 points. He is one of only two current batters with 800 rating points. With 788, Devon Conway is next, while Babar Azam (778) and Aiden Markram (748) complete the top five.

A number of New Zealand players made massive gains as well in the T20I rankings. Finn Allen, who made a quick 35 in the first T20I and 11 in the second, jumped up eight places to 19th, while Daryl Mitchell’s half-century helped him climb nine places to 29th.

New Zealand captain Mitchell Santner, who has been economical in the series thus far and top-scored with 19 in Lucknow, is currently ninth in the bowler’s charts with 662 points. He also jumped up five spots to 23rd in the all-rounder rankings.

The top 10 bowlers are more closely placed than the batters: only 39 points separate top-ranked Rashid Khan (698) and 10th-placed Anrich Nortje (659).

ICC men’s T20I rankings (batting)

Suryakumar Yadav – 908 points
Mohammad Rizwan – 836
Devon Conway – 788
Babar Azam – 778
Aiden Markram – 748
Dawid Malan – 719
Rilee Rossouw – 693
Aaron Finch – 680
Glenn Phillips – 676
Alex Hales – 655

ICC men’s T20I rankings (bowling)

Rashid Khan – 698
Wanindu Hasaranga – 692
Adil Rashid – 692
Josh Hazlewood – 690
Sam Curran – 688
Tabraiz Shamsi – 681
Adam Zampa – 678
Mujeeb Ur Rahman – 677
Mitchell Santner – 662
Anrich Nortje – 659

Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99