The independent voice of cricket

Pakistan Super League 2024

Watch: Haris Rauf injures bowling arm, head while taking diving catch in last-ball PSL thriller

PSL 2024: Haris Rauf injures himself
by Wisden Staff 2 minute read

Watch: Haris Rauf injured himself while taking a catch on the penultimate delivery of the last-ball thriller between Lahore Qalandars and Karachi Kings in PSL 2024 yesterday (February 24).

Rauf managed to clutch onto the ball in a diving effort to send back Ahsan Bhatti, but ended up injuring his arm as he landed on it while completing the catch. As he hit the ground, his head smacked on the floor: he crumpled on the turf, writhing in pain.

In the context of the game, it was a massive moment: the Kings needed one off the last two balls when Bhatti skied the ball in the air and Rauf caught it. Off the last ball, the Kings sneaked through, with Mir Hamza managing a toe-edge that travelled towards the third man fence.

Back to the Rauf catch: there was debate over whether Rauf had completed the catch, as he appeared to lose the ball while rolling over in pain. The third umpire, though, judged it out, convinced that Rauf had completed the catch. The Kings player did not seem to agree with the decision, and captain Shan Masood was seen remonstrating from the dressing room at the third umpire’s decision.

Rauf walked off the field in pain and was later seen with a sling around his bowling arm. The extent of his injury is not clear, although the sight of him all strapped up definitely looked like a cause for worry.


Subscribe to theย Wisden Cricket YouTube channelย for post-match analysis, player interviews, and much more.

Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-canโ€™t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just ยฃ39.99