The independent voice of cricket

Major League Cricket 2023

MLC 2023 captains: Full list of skippers for each Major League Cricket team

Major League Cricket 2023 coaches
by Wisden Staff 2 minute read

The first edition of the USA-based Major League Cricket will begin on July 13 with six teams in the fray. Here is all you need to know about the captains of the sides in the 2023 MLC.

Six teams – Texas Super Kings, Los Angeles Knight Riders, MI New York, San Francisco Unicorns, Seattle Orcas and Washington Freedom – will take part in the first ever high-profile T20 league based out of the United States of America. Four of the six teams, Texas, Los Angeles, New York and Seattle, have been bought by owners of Indian Premier League teams.

MLC 2023 will begin on July 13, with each team playing five league games, in Dallas and Morrisville, after which the four playoffs will be held at the Grand Prairie Stadium in Dallas. The top four teams from the first round will advance to the playoffs, to be played on July 27 and 28, followed by the final, on July 30.


All six teams have announced their squads for the T20 league. Each side could select a maximum of 19 players and a minimum of 16. Nine of these cricketers must be from the domestic pool of USA cricketers. Teams also have to pick one under-23 player from the USA.

Here’s the full squad and team list of all six teams.

MLC 2023: Captains of all six teams in Major League Cricket

MI New York: Kieron Pollard

The former West Indies skipper leads the MI Emirates team in the International League T20 and will lead the likes of Rashid Khan, Nicholas Pooran and Trent Boult.

Texas Super Giants: Faf du Plessis

The South African is currently in charge of the Royal Challengers Bangalore in the IPL and led the Johannesburg Super Kings in the SA20 at the start of the year.

San Francisco Unicorns: Aaron Finch

The former Australia skipper announced his international retirement at the start of the year. He led Australia to the 2022 T20 World Cup trophy in the UAE.

Washington Freedom: Marcus Stoinis

Henriques has proven his leadership mettle in the Big Bash League, where he led Sydney Sixers to back-to-back trophies in 2020 and 2021.

LA Knight Riders: Sunil Narine

A product of the Knight Riders for several years, Narine will man the MLC division of the franchise this time. He had led the Abu Dhabi Knight Riders in the ILT20 earlier this year.

The captain of the Seattle Orcas is yet to be named.

Subscribe to the Wisden Cricket YouTube channel for post-match analysis, player interviews, and much more.

Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99