The independent voice of cricket

Lanka Premier League

LPL 2020: TV channel, match start time & schedule for the Lanka Premier League

LPL teams
by Wisden Staff 2-minute read

The inaugural edition of the Lanka Premier League begins on November 26 – here is where you can catch the LPL 2020 live telecast and streaming.

The LPL 2020 – Sri Lanka’s brand new franchise T20 league – is set to begin on November 26 and run until December 16, with the Sooriyawewa Stadium, near Hambantota, hosting all the matches.

The LPL has had its hiccoughs in the build-up, but the tournament seems all set to launch on Thursday. As many as five teams, based on cities across Sri Lanka – namely Colombo Kings, Dambulla Viking, Galle Gladiators, Kandy Tuskers and Jaffna Stallions – will contest in the league + knockout tournament.

Last week, broadcast networks – including Sony Network in India and Sky Sports in the UK – bought the rights to telecast LPL 2020, ensuring wide coverage for the tournament across south Asia and in the United Kingdom.

LPL live

Andre Russell opted out of West Indies’ series in New Zealand to take part in LPL 2020

A host of big names in world cricket are set to play LPL 2020, including the likes of Dale Steyn and Andre Russell, as well as former internationals like Pakistan all-rounder Shahid Afridi, and India stars Irfan Pathan and Munaf Patel.

The LPL matches will start at 7.30pm local time and IST (2pm GMT), with Colombo Kings and Kandy Tuskers clashing in the tournament opening fixture. The afternoon matches in LPL 2020 start at 3.30pm local time and IST (10am GMT).

LPL 2020 will be telecast across the world on various platforms – below are all the details on its live telecast and streaming.

LPL 2020 live telecast: TV channel

LPL 2020 will be telecast live on the Sony Network channels in India – Sony Six and Sony Six HD. Sky Sports have the rights to telecast LPL 2020 in the United Kingdom. PTV will broadcast the tournament in Pakistan, while Sri Lanka’s local network ITN will telecast the match in the country.

LPL 2020 live telecast: Streaming

In India, LPL 2020 will be streamed live on Sony Liv. Live streaming details for other countries are awaited.

LPL 2020: Fixtures and start times

November 26: CK vs KT, Match 1, 7.30pm local time & IST | 2pm GMT

November 27: GG vs JS, Match 2, 7.30pm local time & IST | 2pm GMT

November 28: DV vs KT, Match 3, 3.30 local time & IST | 10am GMT

November 29: CK vs GG, Match 4, 7.30pm local time & IST | 2pm GMT

November 30: DV vs JS, Match 5, 3.30pm local time & IST | 10am GMT

Find the full LPL 2020 schedule and timings here.

Find the full squad and team list for LPL 2020 here.

Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99