The independent voice of cricket

Indian Premier League 2024

IPL 2024 schedule: Fixtures, match timings and venues for first 21 games

Chennai Super Kings' Shivam Dube plays a shot during the Indian Premier League (IPL) Twenty20 final cricket match between Gujarat Titans and Chennai Super Kings at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad on May 30, 2023.
by Wisden Staff 3 minute read

The BCCI have announced the schedule, match timings and venues for the first 21 games of the upcoming Indian Premier League (IPL) 2024 season, with the competition set to begin on March 22.

IPL 2024: Who will play the season opener?

Chennai Super Kings, IPL 2023 champions, will host Royal Challengers Bangalore in the season opener. Then comes the only full weekend of double headers announced thus far: the subsequent weekends of this phase will have double headers only on the Sundays.

IPL 2024: What are the match timings?

Every day from March 22 has a game scheduled at 7:30 pm IST, with early games on double header days starting at 3:30 pm.

Notably, Delhi Capitals will host their home games at Visakhapatnam, presumably because the Arun Jaitley Stadium, their usual home, is in use for the latter stages of the Women’s Premier League.

The 21 games announced make up less than a third of the total games in the competition, with 74 fixtures set to be played, as was the case in 2023 and 2022, when the IPL expanded to 10 teams.

IPL 2024 schedule: Time table, venues and match timings for first 21 games

(all timings local)

Match 1: Chennai Super Kings v Royal Challengers Bangalore, Friday, March 22, 8:00 pm, Chennai

Match 2: Punjab Kings v Delhi Capitals, Saturday, March 23, 3:30 pm, Mohali

Match 3: Kolkata Knight Riders v Sunrisers Hyderabad, Saturday, March 23, 7:30 pm, Kolkata

Match 4: Rajasthan Royals v Lucknow Super Giants, Sunday, March 24, 3:30 pm, Jaipur

Match 5: Gujarat Titans v Mumbai Indians, Sunday, March 24, 7:30 pm, Ahmedabad

Match 6: Royal Challengers Bangalore v Punjab Kings, Monday, March 25, 7:30 pm, Bengaluru

Match 7: Chennai Super Kings v Gujarat Titans, Tuesday, March 26, 7:30 pm, Chennai

Match 8: Sunrisers Hyderabad v Mumbai Indians, Wednesday, March 27, 7:30 pm, Hyderabad

Match 9: Rajasthan Royals v Delhi Capitals, Thursday, March 28, 7:30 pm, Jaipur

Match 10: Royal Challengers Bangalore v Kolkata Knight Riders, Friday, March 29, 7:30 pm, Bengaluru

Match 11: Lucknow Super Giants v Punjab Kings, Saturday, March 30, 7:30 pm, Lucknow

Match 12: Gujarat Titans v Sunrisers Hyderabad, Sunday, March 31, 3:30 pm, Ahmedabad

Match 13: Delhi Capitals v Chennai Super Kings, Sunday, March 31, 7:30 pm, Vizag

Match 14: Mumbai Indians v Rajasthan Royals, Monday, April 1, 7:30 pm, Mumbai

Match 15: Royal Challengers Bangalore v Lucknow Super Giants, Tuesday, April 2, 7:30 pm, Bengaluru

Match 16: Delhi Capitals v Kolkata Knight Riders, Wednesday, April 3, 7:30 pm, Vizag

Match 17: Gujarat Titans v Punjab Kings, Thursday, April 4, 7:30 pm, Ahmedabad

Match 18: Sunrisers Hyderabad v Chennai Super Kings, Friday, April 5, 7:30 pm, Hyderabad

Match 19: Rajasthan Royals v Royal Challengers Bangalore, Saturday, April 6, 7:30 pm, Jaipur

Match 20: Mumbai Indians v Delhi Capitals, Sunday, April 7, 3:30 pm, Mumbai

Match 21: Lucknow Super Giants v Gujarat Titans, Sunday April 7, 7:30 pm, Lucknow

The schedule for the entire IPL 2024 season was announced on March 25. You can find the complete IPL 2024 schedule here.

Subscribe to the Wisden Cricket YouTube channel for post-match analysis, player interviews, and much more.

Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99