The independent voice of cricket

IPL 2022 – Stories | Indian Premier League

IPL 2022 retentions: Live updates, format, rules and full list of retained players for each team

IPL 2022 retained
by Wisden Staff 2 minute read

Retentions list for IPL 2022 – follow this space for live updates of the retained list for each team of the Indian Premier League.

The IPL 2022 auction, to be held next year, will see a major overhaul for all teams, with two more franchises – based in Lucknow and Ahmedabad – being added to the competition for next season.

IPL 2022 is expected to be held in India, with the last two editions being played partly and wholly in the UAE.


IPL 2022 retained list: Live updates

RR: Samson, Buttler, Jaiswal. Purse remaining: INR 62 Cr

KKR: Russell, Varun CV, Iyer, Narine. Purse remaining: 48 Cr

DC: 1. Pant, 2. Patel, 3. Shaw, 4. Nortje. Purse remaining: 47.5 Cr

CSK: Jadeja (16 Cr), Dhoni (12 Cr), Moeen (8 Cr), Ruturaj (6 Cr)

SRH have confirmed Williamson, Samad and Malik. Purse remaining: 68 Cr.

PBKS have confirmed Mayank Agarwal (14 Cr) and Arshdeep Singh (4 Cr). Purse remaining: 72 Cr

MI name Rohit, Bumrah, SKY and Pollard (in that order). Purse remaining: 48 Cr.

KKR have named their four – Russell, Narine, Varun and Iyer

Confirmed: Kohli, Maxwell and Siraj for RCB. Purse remaining: 57 Cr.

We’re not far from the official announcement, although most of the surprise is already out. Will there be some late drama and a few changes? Remains to be seen.

Umran Malik and Abdul Samad will join Kane Williamson in SRH’s retention sheet, according to ESPNcricinfo.

Just in: Reports that Jos Buttler has been retained alongside Yashasvi Jaiswal and skipper Sanju Samson.

The lists aren’t officially out until 9.30pm IST on November 30, but we’ve already got plenty of names floating around based on multiple reports.

There’s plenty happening, and we’ll keep providing you live updates as they come.

For DC, R Ashwin indicated that he and Shreyas Iyer have not been retained, with Rishabh Pant, Prithvi Shaw and Axar Patel being frontrunners for the three slots. RCB are set to retain Virat Kohli, although AB de Villiers’ retirement will leave a massive gap, while there are indications that CSK might end up keeping MS Dhoni.

KKR are expected to let go of Eoin Morgan, their captain through IPL 2021, while KL Rahul, Punjab Kings captain, might also be on his way out.

Chennai Super Kings (CSK)

Ravindra Jadeja
MS Dhoni
Moeen Ali
Ruturaj Gaikwad

Purse remaining: INR 48 Cr

Delhi Capitals (DC)

Rishabh Pant
Axar Patel
Prithvi Shaw
Anrich Nortje

Purse remaining: INR 47.5 Cr

Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR)

Andre Russell
Varun CV
Ventakesh Iyer
Sunil Narine

Purse remaining: 48 Cr

Mumbai Indians (MI)

Rohit Sharma
Jasprit Bumrah
Suryakumar Yadav
Kieron Pollard

Purse remaining: 48 Cr

Punjab Kings (PBKS)

Mayank Agarwal
Arshdeep Singh

Purse remaining: 72 Cr

Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH)

Kane Williamson
Abdul Samad
Umran Malik
Purse remaining: 68 Cr

Rajasthan Royals (RR)

Sanju Samson
Jos Buttler
Yashasvi Jaiswal

Purse remaining: 62 Cr

Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB)

Virat Kohli
Glenn Maxwell
Mohammed Siraj

Purse remaining: 57 Cr

IPL 2022 retained players: Retention rules

According to reports, each team will be able to retain a maximum of four players, with no RTM (right to match) cards on offer this time. After the retentions are made, the two new teams will be able to pick three players ahead of the main auction.

The two new teams are expected to be able to pick a maximum of two Indian players and one overseas player.

Each existing team can retain either three Indian and one overseas player, or two Indian and two overseas players.

Each team has a salary cap of INR 90 crore. The following is the player-wise slab based on the number of retentions made, according to ESPNcricinfo:

If four players: Player 1 – INR 16 Cr, Player 2 – INR 12 Cr, Player 3 – INR 8 Cr
If three players: INR 15 Cr, INR 11 Cr, INR 7 Cr
If two players: INR 14 Cr, INR 10 Cr
If one player: INR 14 Cr

IPL 2022 retained list: TV Channels and Live streaming

The final list is expected to be out at 9.30pm on the Star Sports Network. 

Telecast will be on the following channels: Star Sports 1, Star Sports 1 HD, Star Sports Hindi, Star Sports Hindi HD,

Live streaming: Disney+ Hotstar

Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99