The independent voice of cricket

Indian Premier League 2021

IPL 2021 trade news: Ins and outs, transfers, releases & coach changes

IPL 2021 trade news
by Wisden Staff 3 minute read

The Indian Premier League 2021 auction is set to take place in February, which will confirm squads for the eight franchises ahead of the 14th edition of IPL, but there will be plenty of trade news to track before players go under the hammer.

The IPL 2021 trade window is set to go on till February 4, with the main auction expected to be held in the third week of February, although the exact dates haven’t been released, neither has the venue for the tournament been decided.

On Wednesday, January 22, teams announced their list of retained and released players ahead of 2021 IPL auction. On February 11, 292 players were shortlisted to go under the hammer. Below is the trade news from all the eight IPL 2021 franchises so far:


Chennai Super Kings

Transfers in: Robin Uthappa

Transfers out: NA

Released players: Kedar Jadhav, Piyush Chawla, Murali Vijay, Harbhajan Singh, Monu Singh, Shane Watson (retired)

Head coach: Stephen Fleming

Captain: MS Dhoni

2020 finish: 7th

Delhi Capitals

Transfers in: NA

Transfers out: Daniel Sams, Harshal Patel

Released players: Jason Roy, Sandeep Lamichhane, Mohit Sharma, Tushar Deshpande, Keemo Paul, Alex Carey

Head coach: Ricky Ponting

Captain: Shreyas Iyer

2020 finish: 2nd

Kings XI Punjab

Transfers in: NA

Transfers out: NA

Released players: Glenn Maxwell, Karun Nair, Jagadeesha Suchith, Krishnappa Gowtham, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Sheldon Cottrell, Jimmy Neesham, Hardus Viljoen, Tajinder Singh

Head coach: Anil Kumble

Captain: KL Rahul

2020 finish: 6th

Kolkata Knight Riders

Transfers in: NA

Transfers out: NA

Released players: Tom Banton, Nikhil Naik, Chris Green, Siddhesh Lad, M Siddharth

Head coach: Brendon McCullum

Captain: Eoin Morgan

2020 finish: 5th

Mumbai Indians

Transfers in: NA

Transfers out: NA

Released players: Lasith Malinga, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Mitchell McClenaghan, James Pattinson, Sherfane Rutherford, Digvijay Deshmukh, Prince Balwant Rai.

Head coach: Mahela Jayawardene

Captain: Rohit Sharma

2020 finish: Winners

Rajasthan Royals

Transfers in: NA

Transfers out: NA

Released players: Steve Smith, Ankit Rajpoot, Oshane Thomas, Shashank Singh, Akash Singh, Varun Aaron, Tom Curran, Anirudha Joshi

Head coach: Andrew McDonald

Captain: Sanju Samson

2020 finish: 8th

Royal Challengers Bangalore

Transfers in: Daniel Sams and Harshal Patel (both from Delhi Capitals)

Transfers out: NA

Released players: Chris Morris, Aaron Finch, Moeen Ali, Isuru Udana, Dale Steyn, Shivam Dube, Umesh Yadav, Pawan Negi, Gurkeerat Mann, Parthiv Patel

Head coach: Simon Katich

Captain: Virat Kohli

2020 finish: 4th

Sunrisers Hyderabad

Transfers in: NA

Transfers out: NA

Released players: Billy Stanlake, Fabian Allen, Sanjay Yadav, Billy Sandeep, Yarra Prithvi Raj

Coach: Trevor Bayliss

Captain: David Warner

2020 finish: 3rd

Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99