The independent voice of cricket

Indian Premier League 2021

IPL 2021: Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) team preview, fixtures & squad list – Indian Premier League

RCB RR Dream11 preview
by Aadya Sharma 3 minute read

IPL 2021, the 14th edition of Indian Premier League, is expected to begin next month: here’s a look at the Royal Challengers Bangalore team preview, as the Virat Kohli led RCB side look for their elusive maiden title.

The RCB side has, over the years, boasted of some of world cricket’s top talents, but are yet to break the jinx of a title-less season for 13 straight years. Last year, the team looked set to shake off the curse after a solid group stage, reaching the semi-final, where they lost to Sunrisers Hyderabad.

IPL 2021 RCB team preview

In an attempt to start afresh, RCB released as many as ten players ahead of the IPL 2021 auction, including Parthiv Patel, who announced his retirement. With enough purse remaining to focus on promising international and domestic cricketers in the auction, they completed some of the costliest buys this time, including New Zealand all-rounder Kyle Jamieson [INR 15 crore] and Australian all-rounder Glenn Maxwell [INR 14 crore], purchasing a total of eight players.

In the list of players retained, captain Kohli has his trusted comrade for years, AB de Villiers, along with a battery of strong domestic names in Yuzvendra Chahal, Washington Sundar, Devdutt Padikkal and Navdeep Saini. Apart from de Villiers, RCB retained three more international players for IPL 2021 in Kane Richardson, Adam Zampa and Josh Philippe.

Royal Challengers Bangalore coaching staff

Simon Katich (head coach), Mike Hesson (director of cricketing operations), Sanjay Bangar (batting consultant), Adam Griffith (bowling coach), Basu Shanker (fitness coach), Evan Speechly (head physiotherapist), Sridharan Sriram (spin bowling coach), Malolan Rangarajan (head of scouting), Navneetha Gautam (sports massage therapist), Soumyadeep Pyne (team manager)

Royal Challengers Bangalore squad

Virat Kohli (c), AB de Villiers, Devdutt Padikkal, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Mohammad Siraj, Navdeep Saini, Pavan Deshpande, Shahbaz Ahamad, Harshal Patel, Josh Philippe, Adam Zampa, Kane Richardson, Daniel Sams, Glenn Maxwell, Sachin Baby, Rajat Patidar, Mohammed Azharuddeen, Kyle Jamieson, Dan Christian, Suyash Prabhudessai, KS Bharat

RCB IPL 2021 Fixtures

09/04 – Chennai – Mumbai Indians vs Royal Challengers Bangalore, 7.30pm
14/04 – Chennai – Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Royal Challengers Bangalore, 7.30pm
18/04 – Chennai – Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Kolkata Knight Riders, 3.30pm
22/04 – Mumbai – Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Rajasthan Royals, 7.30pm
25/04 – Mumbai – Chennai Super Kings vs Royal Challengers Bangalore, 3.30pm
27/04 – Ahmedabad – Delhi Capitals vs Royal Challengers Bangalore, 7.30pm
30/04 – Ahmedabad – Punjab Kings vs Royal Challengers Bangalore, 7.30pm
03/05 – Ahmedabad – Kolkata Knight Riders vs Royal Challengers Bangalore, 7.30pm
06/05 – Ahmedabad – Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Punjab Kings, 7.30pm
09/05 – Kolkata – Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Sunrisers Hyderabad, 7.30pm
14/05 – Kolkata – Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Delhi Capitals, 7.30pm
16/05 – Kolkata – Rajasthan Royals vs Royal Challengers Bangalore, 3.30pm
20/05 – Kolkata – Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Mumbai Indians, 7.30pm
23/05 – Kolkata – Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Chennai Super Kings, 7.30pm.

Subscribe to the Wisden Cricket YouTube channel for post-match awards, player interviews, analysis and much more.

Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99