The independent voice of cricket

Indian Premier League 2021

IPL 2021 Purple Cap: Highest wicket-takers and list of past winners | Indian Premier League

IPL 2021 Purple Cap List
by Wisden Staff 2 minute read

IPL 2021 is the 14th edition of the Indian Premier League – here’s a look at the Purple Cap holders, the bowlers with the most wickets in the 14th edition of the IPL.

IPL 2021 Purple Cap

Harshal Patel – 5 wickets
Avesh Khan – 2 wickets
Chris Woakes – 2 wickets
Rashid Khan – 2 wickets
Jasprit Bumrah – 2 wickets
Marco Jansen – 2 wickets
Mohammad Nabi – 2 wickets
Prasidh Krishna – 2 wickets
Shardul Thakur – 2 wickets
Krunal Pandya – 1 wickets

See the IPL 2021 points table here.

Who is a purple cap winner?

The purple cap is awarded to the bowler with the most wickets in the particular edition of the Indian Premier League. The purple cap, worn by the player with the most wickets during each game on the field, is passed on as the player at the top changes. If two bowlers are tied with the same number of wickets, the purple cap goes to the one with the better economy rate.

Previous winners

Season       Player                        Wickets
2008      Sohail Tanvir (RR)           22
2009      RP Singh (DC)                   23
2010      Pragyan Ojha (DC)            21
2011       Lasith Malinga (MI)          28
2012      Morne Morkel (DD)          25
2013      Dwayne Bravo (CSK)        32
2014      Mohit Sharma (CSK)        23
2015      Dwayne Bravo (CSK)        26
2016      Bhuvneshwar (SRH)         23
2017      Bhuvneshwar (SRH)         26
2018      Andrew Tye (KXIP)          24
2019      Imran Tahir (CSK)            26
2020     Kagiso Rabada (DC)         30

History of the Purple Cap

The first-ever purple cap winner was Pakistan’s Sohail Tanvir, playing for Rajasthan Royals in 2008. The left-arm seamer finished with 22 wickets in the season including a 6/14 spell, the best individual bowling spell in IPL history until 2018 when Alzarri Joseph broke the record. Dwayne Bravo’s 32 wickets in 2013 is the most by any player in any one edition of the IPL.

What happened in 2020?

Kagiso Rabada won the purple cap in the 13th edition of the IPL in UAE, taking 30 wickets, becoming just the second bowler after Bravo in 2013 to take more than 30 wickets in a single season of the IPL. Jasprit Bumrah, with 27 wickets, finished second behind Rabada in the wickets chart while his Mumbai Indians teammate Trent Boult got 25 wickets. Rabada had, however, played two matches more than Bumrah or Boult. Anrich Nortje (22), Yuzvendra Chahal (21) and Rashid Khan (20) were the other bowlers to take over 20 wickets in IPL 2020.

Subscribe to the Wisden Cricket YouTube channel for post-match awards, player interviews, analysis and much more.

Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99