The independent voice of cricket

Indian Premier League 2020

Who has won the IPL? A list of the Indian Premier League champions

Who Has Won The IPL? A List Of The Indian Premier League Champions
by Wisden Staff 5 minute read

With the IPL 2020 well and truly underway, here’s a quick recap of the sides that have won the tournament before. A list of Indian Premier League champions:

Indian Premier League Champions

2008 – Rajasthan Royals

In the inaugural edition of the Indian Premier League, Shane Warne led Rajasthan Royals to what remains their only title so far. Another Aussie Shane in the side – all-rounder Watson – was named the player of the tournament, while the big-hitting Yusuf Pathan delivered in the final, his 39-ball 56 key in the victory over Chennai Super Kings.

2009 – Deccan Chargers

Held in South Africa, another Australian skipper led the way for his side – this time it was Adam Gilchrist, who was the second-highest run-scorer in the tournament. He fell for a three-ball duck in the final, but another veteran – Herschelle Gibbs – contributed a half-century as Deccan Chargers defeated Royal Challengers Bangalore by six runs.

2010 – Chennai Super Kings

Chennai Super Kings landed their first title in the new decade, their victory in the final coming over Sachin Tendulkar’s Mumbai Indians. Suresh Raina, CSK’s leading run-getter in the tournament – top-scored with an unbeaten 57 before chipping in with a wicket alongside the accomplished attack of Messrs Ashwin, Bollinger, Morkel, Murali and Jakati.

2011 – Chennai Super Kings

Chennai made it back-to-back wins in 2011, defeating Royal Challengers Bangalore in the final. RCB’s Chris Gayle was the standout batsman in the tournament but fell for a duck as Ravi Ashwin starred with figures of 3-16 in a 58-run win.

2012 – Kolkata Knight Riders

Chennai made it to their third final in a row but this was to be Kolkata Knight Riders’ year. While the mystery spin of Sunil Narine was key in helping KKR to the final of the tournament, the unlikely hero in the final was Manvinder Bisla, who hit 89 off 48 balls to deliver victory.

2013 – Mumbai Indians

Chennai were runners-up once more as Mumbai claimed their first title. The CSK duo of Michael Hussey and Dwayne Bravo were the tournament’s leading run-scorer and wicket-taker, but the leading figures in the final were Kieron Pollard (60 off 32 balls) and a bowling attack of Lasith Malinga, Mitchell Johnson and Harbhajan Singh, with the three bowlers sharing six wickets.

2014 – Kolkata Knight Riders

A Kings XI Punjab side spearheaded by the brazen batting efforts of Glenn Maxwell topped the group stage and met KKR in the final. There, Kings XI put on an imposing 199 thanks to Wriddhiman Saha hitting the first-ever century in an IPL final. But even with the Narine weapon blunted, KKR had Manish Pandey’s explosive 94 carry them to a second title.

2015 – Mumbai Indians

Powered by the runs of Lendl Simmons and wickets of Malinga, Mumbai reached their third final where Rohit Sharma was the player of the match courtesy of a 26-ball 50 as CSK were defeated by 41 runs.

2016 – Sunrisers Hyderabad

Virat Kohli enjoyed an astonishing season with the bat – recording four centuries and seven half-centuries – as RCB reached their third final. But Sunrisers Hyderabad were the side to win their maiden title, with David Warner’s own excellent campaign culminating in a 38-ball 69 at the top of the order and leading to a total of 208-7 batting first. RCB started the chase excellently through Gayle and Kohli, but fell from 140-1 in the 13th over to 200-7 as the Sunrisers clawed it back spectacularly at the death.

2017 – Mumbai Indians

Mumbai’s pattern of winning in alternate years continued as they faced Rising Pune Supergiant in an incredible final. Set 130 to win, RPS needed 33 from the last four overs, but Mitchell Johnson, Malinga and Jasprit Bumrah took Mumbai took an improbable win. With just seven needed from the final five balls, Johnson dismissed Manoj Tiwary and Steve Smith in consecutive deliveries, eventually leading to a one-run win.

2018 – Chennai Super Kings

Seven years on from their last title, CSK were champions once again, triumphing comfortably in the final over Sunrisers. Shane Watson – so influential in Rajasthan’s title win a decade earlier – smashed a sensational 117 not out in the final to deliver an eight-wicket win.

2019 – Mumbai Indians

Spectacularly, Mumbai triumphed by just one run in a final once again. Needing nine off the final over in a chase of 150, Watson, on 76 heading into the final six, looked set to repeat his heroics from a year earlier but was run out with two balls to spare. With two needed off the final ball, Malinga trapped Shardul Thakar lbw to deliver Mumbai their fourth title in just seven years.

Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99