The independent voice of cricket

Global T20 Leagues

Morgan, Babar and Amir to represent Dublin Euro T20 side

Yas Rana by Yas Rana
@Yas_Wisden 3 minute read

Eoin Morgan will have the opportunity to play for the city of his birth for the first time in his professional career after he was unveiled as the Dublin Chiefs’ icon player for the inaugural season of the Euro T20 Slam.

At the players’ draft near Heathrow Airport, it was announced that England’s World Cup-winning captain will play for Dublin Chiefs – one of six franchise sides in the first edition of the Euro T20 Slam. He’ll be joined by two of Pakistan’s World Cup stars Babar Azam and Mohammad Amir.

The competition, organised by the same company that put on the Global T20 tournament in Canada, is set to take place for just over three weeks in late August and September. The six cities hosting the competition are Dublin, Belfast, Edinburgh, Glasgow, Rotterdam and Amsterdam.

Morgan will represent the Dublin Chiefs

Other high-profile international players who will participate in the tournament are Imran Tahir, Shane Watson and Hasan Ali (all Amsterdam Knights), Shahid Afridi and Luke Wright (both Belfast Titans), Martin Guptill, Chris Lynn, Matt Henry and Tymal Mills (all Edinburgh Rocks), Brendon McCullum, Dale Steyn and Ravi Bopara (all Glasgow Giants) and Rashid Khan, Fakhar Zaman and Shaheen Afridi (all Rotterdam Rhinos).

While no broadcasting deal is currently in place in the UK, it is understood that a major broadcaster will pick up the UK TV rights before the competition starts in just over a month’s time.

A potential hurdle for the tournament is the timing of other major cricketing events. It clashes with the last two Ashes Tests, the opening rounds of the Caribbean Premier League and the knockout stages of the T20 Blast.

Have Your Say

Become a Wisden member

  • Exclusive offers and competitions
  • Money-can’t-buy experiences
  • Join the Wisden community
  • Sign up for free
Latest magazine

Get the magazine

12 Issues for just £39.99